Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-10-2013, 08:15 AM   #1

A Newby Plans a Trip

I am new to my Jayco travel trailer, my Ram truck, RVing, and this forum. We got the travel trailer in May, 2013 and took a bunch of small trips this summer as learning exercises (also lots of fun). We are located in Erie, PA.

I am trying to plan a six to seven week western trip in the summer of 2014.

I believe I have planned out the first half of the trip: the path will go west from Erie, PA moving along the interstates (I90/I80 across Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, and Iowa; north up I29; then I90 across South Dakota). This first phase will be pretty much just traveling.

The idea is to spend two or three days in the Black Hills/Mount Rushmore area, a couple of days around Devil’s Tower, and maybe a day by Sheridan, WY to take a drive up into the Big Horn mountain range to look for wild horses.

Another travel day across Montana on I90 until Livingston, MT. From there, south on US89, ending in Gardiner, MT, right outside the north entrance to Yellowstone.

Rocky Mountain RV Park & Lodging in Gardiner, MT will be the base for four days where the focus will be on Mammoth Hot Springs, the Lamar Valley, and a drive out the northeast entrance and up the Beartooth Highway (without the trailer – a day trip).

Yellowstone Grizzly RV Park in West Yellowstone, MT will be the base for three days where the focus will be on the geysers and thermal features.

Fishing Bridge RV Park in Yellowstone itself will be the base for five days where the focus will be on the remainder of the park not yet seen.

The next step will be a move down to Colter Bay Village RV Park in Grand Teton National Park for ten nights.

here is the part I am still tryong to work out: