Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-25-2016, 08:57 AM   #1

Off grid living - Pros and cons

Hey, I'm new to these forums despite Ive been creeping around for months now. The more time I spend browsing the more I yearn to have a travel trailer of my own.

I intend on purchasing a Jayco Travel Trailer to live in full time. I'm partial to off grid living and I feel like I'm the perfect candidate for that lifestyle despite I have no experience in boondocking or spending time in trailers. I'm a minimalist and I prefer living in compact spaces.

Anyhow, I own land and I have 3 other neighboring plots (that my grandparents own) that are potential spots for a trailer. Sizes vary, however, the land I own is much larger and lavish - There's even a few horse stables up there and a mini pond. Plenty of sunlight and open space. Actually its kinda perfect despite the stables are 80+ years old and the land itself needs a major face lift.

Totally babbling but, I'm curious how many ppl here are living off grid in a Jayco. I would love to read some feedback. The good, the bad, the ugly.
kevinrbellamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:00 AM   #2

I'll be the first to just come out and say the Jayco campers are not designed for full timers. I'm sure you can make it work, but it voids your warranty (not sure how they would know, but that's what they say), and instead of getting 8 years out of your camper, you'll probably get a lot less.

Don't let any of that stop you of course, I just wanted to point out something you maybe haven't heard yet.

There are a few non-Jayco brands that are 'certified' for full time use (whatever that means).