Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-23-2017, 03:40 PM   #1

Am I being to overly cautious?

I'm a newbie and this is my first experience and I'm jumping in with both feet to be a full timer in an RV Park....

I am about to move my 2010 Jayco into my RV spot in Park and the management seems to think that me buying a Low voltage booster and a Progressive EMS-HW30 surge protector was not what the "common" person does.....

To me, it just seems like common sense to protect your appliances and seems most blogs and sites that I've visited people are using these products.... Am I throwing money away or am I doing what most "common" people do by protecting their stuff?

Thoughts?
rebecca45888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 03:42 PM   #2

Get the EMS, for sure.

'The common person' gets burned every year for not investing in this 'must have' item.

If anyone called me a 'commoner' I'd probably punch them in the neck.

Unless the 'management' is willing to pay for any / all electrical related repairs during your stay, it's none of his 'bees wax' anyway.

I have a certain neighbor that's always 'in my grill' telling me what I need and don't need, across various topics said neighbor knows almost nothing about. So annoying.

It's your call, but I've never heard of someone on this forum suggesting a quality EMS is ever a bad investment... guaranteed for life too.
bansai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 03:47 PM   #3

I think both of those electrical tools are "must haves". As for the autoformer, I've been in too many parks in mid summer where too many ACs drew the voltage down to unacceptable levels. I've been using one for a couple of years now and wouldn't be without it.
Old 02-23-2017, 03:51 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebecca45888 View Post