Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-24-2010, 07:22 AM   #1

Black Tank Treatment

I'm new to this whole black tank grey tank thing. I have quesiton about storing the camper. After camping a few weeks ago we dumped the black tank, then the grey. My understanding (wrong from what I have since learned) was that the grey tank flows through the empty black tank to clear out any remaining "stuff". Since that is not the case are you supposed to do anything to flush out the black tank to reduce odor buildup between uses? Should I have some sort of chemical in the empty tank? Same with the grey, should there be a treatment in there while the camper is stored? The last thing I need is to get up north for our October trip and have a stinky camper. Thanks in advance.
RedWingsFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 08:39 AM   #2

Per suggestions from other rv'ers at other forums (prior to us frequenting the Jayco Owners Forum), we decided not to use chemicals in our tanks. We haven't yet had problems except for the black monitor readings being inaccurate the entire time we have had the tt. We do have a "wand "to clean the inside of the black, but only did that once so far.

Another thing we learned was to make sure that the black tank is 3/4 prior to dumping. Then pull the grey and drain that last. We also read somewhere that folks will add a drop or two of liquid detergent, then some water and let that slosh around when driving home. It works for us anyhow and no stinky camper

(Let us know what you find works for you)
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:20 PM   #3