Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-29-2013, 11:23 AM   #1

Campground and RV Electrical Connections question

First let me start off by saying that before I start the season I intend on purchasing a Progressive Industries PT30C 30 Amp Portable Electrical Management System. That said, here is my question. I have been camping at only one campground for the past 10 years. It is at the beach and most of my camping is during the busy, hot summer months. The park is usually maxed out with campers. Last year, I purchased my Jayco. Before that I owned a 2001 Forest River. I have never used a surge protector of any kind. Back in 2010, I noticed that the male end (prongs)of my TT power cord was turning black as though they were burnt. Remember, it took about 7 years to get to that point. I went to the local RV store and purchased a new head and replaced the old one. I also purchased a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter. From that point on I used the adapter. I never noticed any blackening or burning of the adapter, although it was only used a few times. A friend who camps as I do, only one campground down has noticed his prongs are blackening as well. Does anyone know what caused the blackening/burning? Low voltage? High voltage? Power surge? Perhaps overuse by campers of the 30 amp receptacle, and by using the adapter I have eleminated that problem? I am not a real mechanical mind person, and after reading here and every where else I realize the need for a protector. I'm just trying to figure out what it is that is causing the blackening or burning so I can be on the lookout for it. One other concern i have is this. With the surge protector I am looking at, it says it will shut off power to the TT in the event of low or high voltage. If the burning is caused by say, low voltage, and the protector shuts off power, what happens if the low voltage is constant? Thus