Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2016, 04:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Meridian
Posts: 16
Experience with a Continu.us TV?

E've been traveling for about 3 weeks in our new (to us) 2014 Redhawk 26xs. It came with a 32" flatscreen Continu.us Model #CT-3210

In this time we've stayed at several different parks and have used their cable TV hookup with VERY mixed results.

Is this normal? We have used both the cable furnished by the park as well as a new cable that we purchased. Each time the picture is very "snowy" and not worth watching. Very occasionally we have found one or two channels (that we don't want to watch-LOL!) where the picture quality is acceptable.

Is it the parks service that is not working well--or is it our TV? We certainly don't mind buying a new TV if this will solve the problem, but don't want to waste money if this won't solve the problem.

Any ideas or experience with this TV?

Thanks in advance for any help!
TVQ1
__________________

TVQ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 04:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,976
Sounds like a loose connection some place. Also do you have the antenna amplifier off?
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 04:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 702
Are you turning your OTA booster off so that no green led is showing?
__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 04:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,543
Ditto on the ant booster needs to be off or the cable or Sat won't work.

Also the cable at many RV parks is suspect and very often if it comes in, it will be only SD as the owners don't want to pay the higher cost of HD or buy the HD boxes that is needed at each site.

We stayed at a fairly nice "resort" on the south side of Antonio TX and the cable was snowy and of poor quality and all in SD. I set up the Dish receiver the following morning and all was good.

The C-US tv that came with our 2014 TT worked fine for the first year but soon after the sound began to fail. Jayco replaced it under warrantee or more correctly they gave me a settlement and allowed me to buy what ever I wanted.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustysocket View Post
Are you turning your OTA booster off so that no green led is showing?
Good guess. That was the problem with mine till someone said did you ...
__________________
2000 F250SD SRW 7.3 Long Bed Extended Cab Air Bags
2014 Eagle 30.5BHLT
2007 Layton 245LF (sold)
196? Shasta 16ft

Learn from others mistakes, you'll never live long enough to make them all yourself.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:46 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Meridian
Posts: 16
Thanks for the replies--

We'll check out the settings. I know we changed the input setting from OTA to cable, or it would not have any picture at all. I don't think we have an antenna booster?

I'm guessing it's just poor cable service at most parks. Certainly not a deal breaker for us, we just had a few football games we wanted to watch while we were on the road. Other thank that, we are happy to read a good book or play a game of cards!

Thanks again, I really appreciate all the advice and help I have received here on the forum,

TVQ1
TVQ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,976
You definitely have a booster. It's either behind the TV or in the cabinet adjacent to it.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 07:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVQ1 View Post
Thanks for the replies--

We'll check out the settings. I know we changed the input setting from OTA to cable, or it would not have any picture at all. I don't think we have an antenna booster?

I'm guessing it's just poor cable service at most parks. Certainly not a deal breaker for us, we just had a few football games we wanted to watch while we were on the road. Other thank that, we are happy to read a good book or play a game of cards!

Thanks again, I really appreciate all the advice and help I have received here on the forum,

TVQ1
Your booster is going to be on the wall where the Coax cable from the back of the Television connects to. It just looks like a little cover. It will have a green LED on it. If the lED is lit it is boosting the signal for your roof antenna and will not work with cable. There is a little button to push. It will turn the light off and then cable will work. You also have to change the settings in your television menu and scan for channels once you have the booster off.
__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 08:21 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
I have been using the C-US television in my 2013 full time for the past 3 years with no issues. I did have a problem in the beginning with the cable connections. It appears that my lines are mixed up at the amplifier and I needed to use the connector for the bedroom tv after removing the short jumper line. I do need to troubleshoot and correct this but have been lazy after figuring out what works.

Also, as others have said, don't forget to scan each time you change locations.

Terry
__________________
2013 Jayflight 25RKS - Picked it up 4/13/13
1999 F350 7.3 Crew Cab Long Bed Dually
1995 Dodge B3500 (Semi-Retired Now - nearly 400K miles)
On the edge between Far West TX & Eastern NM
Traver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 09:39 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: DFW
Posts: 67
Has anyone found a 12v connector or cord that works with the continuous tv?
__________________

Jace817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.