Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2016, 09:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Gresham
Posts: 2
Generator won't run electric

I have recently purchased a 1990 jay series 2300 and needed to run the Onan 2800 generator to run air conditioner. The generator runs just fine but doesn't power any of the outlets or the air conditioner. Was wondering if there is a switch I need to flip or something. Thanks
__________________

Jay2300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 09:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
John7349's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Fairview, Oregon
Posts: 194
Hello
Did you look in the converter for tripped breakers? If no outlets work, perhaps the main breaker?
__________________

__________________
John & Pam Moore
Fairview, Oregon
2017 Jayco 321RSTS
2015 Chevrolet Silverado 3500HD
John7349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 09:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,028
It's rather difficult to troubleshoot without knowing the layout of your trailer but I'll give it a shot. Power has to get from the genset to the trailer. There should be a breaker on the output of the genset. If the breaker is good on the genset, now you have to get power to the trailer. There has to be a point where you can be plugged into either shore power or the genset. It's probably a plug somewhere that you'll need to locate and get plugged into the genset. Is anything operational using shore power? You really need a meter to verify that the genset is working also.
__________________
Don
------------
2015 Greyhawk 29MV
Honda CRV toad with Blue Ox baseplate
Ready Brute Elite towbar with braking system
Hughes autoformer
TST 507 Flowthru TPMS
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 08:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Posts: 573
Friend of mine bought a used truck camper with a built-in generator and the seller reminded hm a couple of times to make sure he had the generator plugged in so it would power up the camper. That would be the first place I would look.
__________________
2012 GMC 2500HD D/A Crewcab
2012 Jayco Eagle SuperLite HT 26.5 RLS
2009 Crestliner Superhawk 1900
2013 Polaris Sportsman 550 EXP
2008 Polaris Sportsman 700 X2
jal0710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 09:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jal0710 View Post
Friend of mine bought a used truck camper with a built-in generator and the seller reminded hm a couple of times to make sure he had the generator plugged in so it would power up the camper. That would be the first place I would look.
Or there may be a breaker on front of the geny (under the cover) that may be tripped.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 12:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 423
If the genset came installed in the rv there should be a transfer switch somewhere. It switches relays when you go from shore to gen power. It may not be working or like mentioned already, the generator may be running fine but not putting out any voltage. On the two Onans I have had/have there are on-board breakers for the generator output right next to the start/stop switch on the generator.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 01:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sandy, Utah (Salt Lake City)
Posts: 181
Our OLD motorhome did not have a transfer switch... to use the generator, you had to plug the Motorhome Shore power cord INTO an outlet in the compartment where the cord was stored. That Outlet was wired to the Generator.
SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 11:16 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Gresham
Posts: 2
Generator won't run electric " Sloved"

Thanks, everyone for your quick replies it turns out that there is a plug in up inside the cubby hole where the cord is stored to connect to the generator. There also is a breaker switch on the front of the generator, but it was it in the right position. Plugged it in and was able to run the AC on high with no problem. If any of you are coming to Oregon just came from camping at River Bend county park in Linn County, highly recommend it. Thanks again for all your help:
Jay2300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 08:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Posts: 573
Glad you were able to get it working without having to spend a bunch of money on it. Those are the best kind of fixes.
__________________

__________________
2012 GMC 2500HD D/A Crewcab
2012 Jayco Eagle SuperLite HT 26.5 RLS
2009 Crestliner Superhawk 1900
2013 Polaris Sportsman 550 EXP
2008 Polaris Sportsman 700 X2
jal0710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.