Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-14-2015, 04:33 PM   #1

How to camp without full hook up ????

I am fairly new to owning my 26BH. Just a few years. The places I have camped so far have been mostly human versions of what a sardine can must be like. I raise my 2 Grand daughters alone,one 13 one 5. We mostly camp at beaches, so our main focus is the beach,the staying in the camper is icing on the cake. So I want to broaden my horizons and camp at some places that I see you guys post pics of with sceneries to die for,but I'm gonna bet that these sites are not full hook-ups. So my question is how does one stay somewhere for say 3 days and not have full hook ups? I really like the thought of being able to do much more camping in the state and national parks, The sites are farther apart and the parks are much more natural and that's what I want to show and give these kids. So please if you can give me a Camping without full hookup 101 lesson Im all ears!!! I am in the Baltimore County area of Maryland, and would also appreciate some sites maybe within an hour and a half that you have had previous experience of staying at,if you could....
Old 09-14-2015, 05:05 PM   #2

Many state parks have partial-to-full hookups. As long as I have electric, I am good for several days.

For example on our recent stay at Poinsett State Park in SC, we had a site with 30 amp power and water, but no sewer. We took short showers to minimize what went into the grey tank which is what tends to fill up first.

We also wash dishes in a plastic tub in the sink and pour that dishwater into the black tank via the toilet. It stretches the grey tank capacity and the soapy water helps the black tank from becoming aromatic.