Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2013, 07:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 4
Satellite Dish Installation

Did any one buy the Satellite Dish option when purchasing their Jayco 5th wheel?

Can someone share their knowledge regarding satellite dish installation using the two connection on the back driver side of the trailer?

Or any general knowledge on satellite dish installation on a 2012 Pinnacle 36KPTS.


Camper_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: "Where we Park It"
Posts: 1,070
We use a Tripod and manual aim our HD Dish, gives up more flexibility when trees are other things are around to block a fixed roof top dish.

Robert & Bale the "Traveling Dog"
2012 GMC 3500HD DRW
Rob_Fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:45 PM   #3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: muscle shoals al.
Posts: 32
I agree with Rob and use the tripod. I have watched the motor homes move sites to lock on. my buddy got the potable model with a used rv he bought the other day. he likes it because he can move the dish and not the camper if he has too.

2012 Jayco Eagle 351 mkts
2012 F250 powerstroke 4 x 4
rsbwjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 08:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
Mustang65's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 2,379
Over the last few months of travel, we met a few people that could not use there roof mounted dish's due to trees in the way. We have a tailgater and have not encountered any problems yet.
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album http://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
edatlanta's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,261
I use a tripod with a Slimline Dish. I like HD. Works for me.

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
RoyBraddy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,124
Same here with using a portable satellite dish setup. Mine has two heads on it so I can run a RG cable to to the front room SAT RCVR and to the Bedroom area SAT RCVR receiver. Then I run a RGB cable from SAt RECEIVER and connect to the VIZIO TV video input. All i do to watch SAT TV in grab the remote and switch to VIDEO 1. I can still use the camp ground CABLE SETUP when I select TV on the VIZIO TV.

I never had any luck trying to use the SATELLITE INPUT on my trailers. Never worked. It has to do with the SAT RCVR has to send 12VDC to the dish to operate the SAT DISH HEAD I guess. I never wanted to modify the regular trailer wiring to make it work so figured i would just run my own RG cables and come into the trailer thru the storage bay area. Worked out pretty good for us. Was easy to bring along a couple of SAT RCVRS form home. Never had any trouble with DIRECTV doing this. I would lose my LOCAL STATIONs however when I got outside my ZIP CODE area. Sometimes my SAT RCVR would lose their setups so I had to call DIRECTV to reactivate it. I always carried my account information. Actually had it taped to the case of one of the SAT RCVRS.

Now they have all the fancy stuff with SWM and high def SAT pictures so I have no idea how all that works.

Now that the NATIONAL BROADCAST is transmitting high def full screen HDTV from the local town we sort of stopped bringing out the SAT TV stuff. We get 6-36 full HDTV stations from the local towns using out OTA Antenna setup. If we really want to watch something on CABLE when out in the woods we will downstream it on the internet. Even when we are at camp ground with cable hookup its alot better watching the local towns HDTV then watching the non high def cable hookup at the camp ground. Just use it to watch cable channels in NON HIGH DEF mode...

My SAT TV story.
Roy ken
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 09:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
Grumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,518
I actually use both. I have the wiring set up that I can easily switch to the free standing dish if needed, but I've only encountered that about 10% of the time. It just makes it a little nicer if I don't have to set it up especially on short stays or in the rain. When I make my reservations I ask for a sat friendly site.

PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.