Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-18-2015, 08:05 PM   #1

security issues

what kinds of locks are available and what do you recommend. i'm not a scaredy cat but the lock on my RV seems to be flimsy and I feel a bit insecure. Advice please.
kkitchener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 08:47 PM   #2

Not sure what is available or what you have on your rig. I personally feel as safe in my rig as I do my home . Most homes that are broken in are by kicking in the door or breaking out a window . The way your door is made going out and usually a little higher off the ground makes it very difficult to kick in. One thing you can purchase is a alarm that will wake you or let you know if someone messes with your door at night . I have been traveling three to four months a year for six years and sometimes have pulled into Wally World late at night and only one time did I feel uncomfortable . It wasn't a super Walmart and wasn't open all night too late to find a campground. Most places we stop at we feel safe the others I keep a 45 as a last resort .
Clayton4971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:02 PM   #3

I agree, the locks on the doors can be thick as steel, but a chain is only as strong as it's weakest link, and I believe an RV is no more secure than a house, and vice versa, being that the windows are the weak link.

My house has three deadbolts on the front door... kind of overkill I think when I have a large window just two feet away from the front door...

Insurance for my belongings, Ruger 357 for my family and I when I'm home...

2011 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins
2012 Starcraft Autumn Ridge 297 BHS
Flyrotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:17 PM   #4