Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 64
Silly Little AC Question

When shopping for a generator I need a 3000 watt generator (or higher) with 30 amp service to support my TT air conditioner. 2000 watt generators with 15 amp service wont cut it and will trip out. So here in lies the question. How come at home plugged in with the 15amp adapter plug to a 15 amp GFI AC works fine and doesnt trip the breaker or the GFI. Why does it work at home and not on a generator? Just a thought that popped into my head....

PhyerPhyter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
tnchuck100's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,131
The home 15 amp circuit is more tolerant of the start up surge that the A/C presents. The generator will not tolerate the overload...even for a half-second.

Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
RVhiker's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,099
At my house, the 15 amp plugs are wired with 12 gauge wire and 20 amp breakers so really they have 20 amps of power available - depending on what else is plugged into that circuit, of course.
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 07:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
firefighter's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 123
I just had an Electrican check the AMPS from the house with the A/C running in the trailer. From now on I won't be turning the A/C on in the driveway. It wa using about 14.5 Amps and that is to much of a load for 14 gauge wire. If I went with 12 gauge wire and a 20 amp fuse it would be ok. I certainley don't need a fire in the house.
firefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
tinlizzie23's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Luray, VA (central Shenandoah Valley of VA)
Posts: 1,416
For that reason, I installed a dedicated line directly from the service panel to an outdoor receptacle beside the 5er parking space. Wire is 12 gauge, breaker is 30 amp, and receptacle is GFI and weatherproof. That way there is nothing on the line but the trailer, and it has never tripped the breaker, even with the A/C running and other normal usage inside the trailer.
2003 Ford F-350 V-10 Crew Cab 4WD Long Bed
2004 Jayco Designer Medallion 29 RLTS 5th wheel
Bill, Gayle, and Mindi (dachshund)
Retired at last !

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
tinlizzie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
RoyBraddy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,123
The output of the 2KW Honda EU2000i is only 120VAC at 13.3 AMPS as shown on the panel below. It actually is probably only 12AMPS of usable power after everything is said and done with.- This is just a tad short from the 15AMP house circuit.

photo from google images

Some folks can play some games like running the a/c blower first then switching in the A/C compressor and sometimes that will work with the 2KW Generator.

My house circuit is wired with 12gauge wiring but has the 15AMP receptacles. the circuit breaker is a 20AMP CB... This runs my trailer A/C just fine...
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,263
Our RV plug is just a 110v with a 20amp breaker. It has 10 ga wire so it works well for us.

2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
Dodge SRW 1 ton Cummins powered.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.