Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-30-2012, 09:13 AM   #1

State Parks VS Private Owned

Which do you prefer? I'm new to TT travel and I've only stayed in 3 St. Parks so far. I've visited a private owned park and I do like the personal attention I rcvd just as a visitor. So, this is why I asked...."which do you prefer"?
wkc22fb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:21 AM   #2

1st choice is Corps of Engineers (COE) parks. They seem to be the best maintained.
2nd choice is state parks. Not as well maintained but that really depends on the state you are in.
3rd choice is private/commercial. Sites are usually too close together and overpriced.

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:38 PM   #3

110% on tnchuck's #3 above. Thus far (still a newbie) we've stayed in only one State Park (Lake Catherine, AR) and it was excellent. The CG's were mostly immaculate and we had a FHU (a prerequisite for me). We've stayed in several private CG's that have been very nice but the pads are always close together. Private CG's usually have a collection of full-timers and work campers living in. The work guys/gals usually leaving early (for some reason they drive a high percentage of diesels) and if you are near the exit it can get a little noisy. All that said I have found the people to be a little (not a lot) more friendly and outgoing at the private CG's.

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:57 PM   #4

I've been camping all my life. I prefer our state parks that are run by the army corp of engineers. They are clean and well run. The rules are few but enforced.