Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-22-2014, 08:46 PM   #1

2015 Jay Feather brake problems

I have a new 2015 Jay Feather Ultra Lite model X23B. We are having trouble getting our rig to stop in a reasonable distance and the trailer brakes do very little when activated. IS ANYONE ELSE HAVING BRAKING PROBLEMS WITH THEIR 2015 MODEL? Let me state the situation. I have been towing trailers since 1974 and with my dad since 1967. The X23B is our third Jayco and it replaces an X19H. I tow with a 2004 Yukon XL Denali equipped with a Quest proportional controller. I have burnished the brake shoes as per the manual from Dexter Axles, the brakes are adjusted properly, the wiring checks OK and still the camper brakes have very little effect when applied with the test button on the controller, especially loaded with water, fuel, battery and camping gear. I contacted Jayco customer service and they suggested I call Dexter Axles. I gave the serial numbers of the axles to the engineer at Dexter and he explained that my camper uses a number 9 axle with 7" brakes rated at 2200 pounds per axle. Previous years used number 10 axles with 10" brakes rated at 3500 pounds per axle. I went to my local dealer and looked at the prior years 23' models and sure enough they have 10" brakes! My trailer's sticker states the trailer weighs 4300 pounds empty and over 5050 pounds loaded and Dexter tells me that the axles are only good for 4400 pounds total and prior years where good for 7000 pounds total. Dexter Axles recommended I change the axles to a number 10 with 4 10" brakes to improve braking, the cost is estimated at $1500. Has anyone else had to do this? Did it help? I am taking 6 people to the mountains in 2 weeks and I am scared to take this thing. Any suggestions?

PS I am new to the forum and couldn't figure out how to get this into the technical forum. Apologies!