Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-18-2015, 06:57 PM   #1

Coupling lock issues

I recently purchased a 2000 Jayco Eagle 14SO pop-up trailer and want to protect it from theft from my driveway. I purchased a Gorilla Guard #63228 2" coupling lock from Amazon. It slides on, but something within the trailer coupler is preventing the lock from actually locking. Camping World had no clue and the 2" locks they sell don't even lock a 2" coupler. Does anyone out there know of a lock that would work, or can offer any suggestions? Thanks.
johnjoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 05:10 AM   #2

I've no experience with the Gorilla Guard so I can't help you there but when I owned a small pop-up, I used a small lock to prevent the trigger from being released.

Master Lock Trigger Style Coupler Lock for 1-7/8" and 2" Couplers Master Lock Locks 605DAT

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 06:35 AM   #3

This is the lock I use. They have videos on their website that show many of the locks you see on store shelves being quickly defeated.

https://www.megahitchlock.com
Jace817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 07:57 AM   #4

I like Blaylock's line of coupler locks...

Retail | Blaylock American Metal | Hose Tube Doors, Thief Hatches, Coupler Locks
etex211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 10:54 AM   #5

What type of coupler do you have? Trigger latch, A Frame, Flat mount?

It could be the flange lip on the coupler sticks out a shade to much to allow the pin to go up inside.

You are opening the pin and taking the key out before installing the lock right?