Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-08-2016, 08:03 PM   #1

Cool I convinced my husband to buy a Jay Flight SLX 174BH, now what?!

Hi everyone, it took some convincing, but I got my husband to agree to buy our first trailer Currently live in beautiful western Maryland. We are hikers and I used to camp with my dad as a kid, but together we are COMPLETE newbies.

I am a gadget junkie so I'm looking around here for your nice-to-haves. We also have 2 dogs and a 2 year old daughter. Kinda nervous about keeping her entertained, lol.

Looking forward to connecting with and learning from all of you.
cariegrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 08:11 PM   #2

Hello and welcome. Read advice for newbs on here and make the advice fit your situation.

Relax, have fun and enjoy the journey.

Dave.
SecretCoveDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 08:25 PM   #3

Welcome and congrats on the new rig!!!!

The biggest advice I would guess most will give is to make sure you have the proper tv (tow vehicle) for the trailer. Know that the tow rating is based on 2-150lb occupants and a 10% tw (tongue weight of loaded trailer) if based on the newer tow standard that came out a couple years ago. IF not based on the tow standard, then the tow rating has been based on a 150lb driver only. Make sure you tv has the payload capacity for all the occupants, any cargo (coolers, bikes, firewood, etc), the wdh (weight distribution hitch, if needed), and the tt tw (travel trailer tongue weight).

Good luck!

'16 Jay Flight 32 BHDS ELITE 32 BHDS MODS Reese DC HP

WDH SET UP. HOW A WDH WORKS. CAT SCALE HOW TO.
need-a-vacation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 08:26 PM   #4

Welcome to the group - Lots of great folks here. Congrats on the new camper - Happy camping!!

2022 33RBTS
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Equalizer 4 Point WDH