Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-18-2015, 05:56 AM   #1

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished!

I've been hosting at Michigan State Parks for 2 months, now. I'm Currently at Clear Lake State Park near Atlanta, MI. The sites here have electricity, but no water or sewer. The Host Site has full hook-ups.

Yesterday, a couple pulled into the spot diagonally behind me with a rather large trailer (SOB). As I was cleaning my grill for dinner, the lady came up to me and explained that this was there first time without full hook-ups, and they forgot to fill with fresh water before they set up their rig. She asked if they could use my water line to fill their tanks. Being a nice guy (and trying to be a good Host), I agreed and walked her over to my water hook-up. I explained that the green hose coming off my "Y"-connection was my black tank flush line, so it was turned off. She could remove my hose, connect their water hose, and fill their holding tank. After a couple of minutes, I checked to see if everything was going OK. She had connected another "Y" to my "Y" and was proceeding to hook up to their "city water" connection. I politely told her that she could fill her FW holding tank, but (since she hadn't paid for full hook-ups) I couldn't allow her to use my connection for "city water". As they proceeded to fill their FW holding tank, I left to make my evening Campground Walk. When I returned about 1/2 hour later, their (30-something) son came over to thank me for letting them fill up with water.