Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-03-2017, 12:04 AM   #1

2017 octane 272 solar

I am purchasing a 2017 jayco octane 272 this weekend. I live in Colorado and will be picking it up in Indiana.

My main question is regarding a solar trickle charging system. What size solar panel setup will I need when out dry camping? It has the 50 amp package on it, so does that mean it has upgraded batteries? When dry camping we won't run the AC and we will use LP to power refrigerator and water heater. Does any one have experience with brands or specific panels. I would love some recommendations. I want to purchase the panels this week so we can take the trailer out the following weekend.

What are some things I should ask of the dealership before I drive 1k miles to pick this trailer up? I am new to owning a trailer (my dad had pop ups when I was growing up) and any recommendations are welcomed.
LKetter450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 03:00 AM   #2

Any solar trickle charger will work
As you are only charging the batteries that run 12v system
Amazon has a few panels for that designation

Now if you are talking running Solar with panels to run AC appliances that's a different story

There's a few DIY on amazon as well in the 1000-2500$ range
I can send links if interested

But to have whole house solar tied in you would need 1,000-3,000 watts of panels paired with either AGM or lithium 6volt batteries with pure sine wave inverter

But as mentioned if you are wanting to trickle charge the batteries for 12volt system to plug into solar plug then that's a simpler feat

Let me know which one you are interested in
I'm getting ready to put in a whole RV system to power AC as well

-tad
Doctortadpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:58 AM   #3

Everyone is different