Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2016, 06:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: State College
Posts: 11
Furnace/AC issue

I have a Seismic 3914. Went camping this weekend and the furnace would not ignite or blow air. Had propane to the hot water and stove. Reset on/off switch on the furnace itself and furnace worked fine. Later that evening went to start the furnace up and it only blew cool air and would not ignite. Reset the switch but didn't do anything but blow cool air.

Then a little later went to see if the A/C would work. Was working fine until the wife touch the arrow up for the temp setting. The unit shut down and immediately started back up. Left it alone after that.

Between these two problems could it be the thermostat panel causing these issues? Thanks for any help.
__________________

thormsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 06:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
abarkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ (2008 Seneca 35GS Diesel)
Posts: 986
Very likely, hopefully, just one or two loose control wires on the back of the thermostat.
A screwdriver and 5 minutes is all that should be needed.
__________________

abarkl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 08:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jgerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 191
I've had thermostat issues on my 2016 Greyhawk. My thermostat would lose the temperature setting I set whenever the furnace would try to ignite, it would always reset to the factory default temperature.

I *finally* figured it out and fixed it. The thermostat power was wired to the power wire feeding the furnace. When the furnace would light, the power would drop from 13V to 11V (or lower) and the thermostat would lose my setting and reset. I rewired the thermostat to another power feed (in my case, the power awning) and the problem went away.

The wire size Jayco decided to use to the furnace is a dedicated 14 gauge wire - bare minimum. I'm going to run a new 10 gauge wire from the furnace to the fuse panel, still using the 15 amp fuse to reduce the voltage drop.

Even plugged in to 120v shore power, 11 volts to the furnace is borderline for proper operation due to the sail switch reading air volume.

Hope this helps,

James
jgerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 05:44 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: State College
Posts: 11
Thanks, I will take a look at it.
thormsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.