Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2016, 09:00 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: dallas
Posts: 96
Dustygeek- thanks for the follow-up.
__________________

__________________
Previous units-2016 jayco octane sl floor plan 222,, 2016 Winnebago spider 28sc,, Current unit- 2017 keystone raptor 398ts,,, 2016 Chevy CC 3500hd dually High Country 6.6 duramax
rcmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 05:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
farnik78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snyder
Posts: 122
I have a 2015 Octane T31B and the pump works fine but my gauges don't work. I haven't spent a lot of time trying to figure out why. I just started with the obvious which is the fuse box and it was fine.
__________________

__________________
2015 Octane T31B
2008 Dodge Ram SLT 2500
6.7L Cummins
6 Speed Manual
farnik78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 07:04 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
farnik78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snyder
Posts: 122
My fuel gauge doesn't work and never has. I took the thing loose.and there is no wires plugged into the prongs on the top of the gauge as you can see from the picture. Can anyone tell me if this is my problem? I took the whole panel off and couldn't find any wires that looked like they should be plugged in there.

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n...psxo06jgh7.jpg
farnik78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 12:08 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 5
Same issue here and mine looks exactly as your picture also.
Hollywood165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 01:55 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Old Bridge
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyGeek View Post
As far as my constantly blowing fuse, I'm still not 100% sure what was causing that. When I opened the panel today and inserted the new fuse, everything worked properly. I did re-seat some of the connectors, but that shouldn't have affected anything (maybe things working or not, but not a short). I was also incorrect about the fuse location. It is *NOT* in front of the timer/fuel station circuit, just the gauge.

I believe the fuse blowing was a short because of how the installer did the wiring. It's the only thing out of the ordinary, and I think the end must have come into contact with something grounded.


Umm, Jayco, we need to talk.. That's not how you use those connectors, nor is it the proper connection for this purpose. I taped them up so they can't cause any more problems.

For the fuel station, I called it right yesterday. It was a mis-wiring. Here is a shot of 15 Minute timer module:

If you look carefully, you'll notice that the label says: 1-Trigger, 2-Load, 3-12 VDC, 4-Ground. Unfortunately, the installer didn't wire it that way. He/she attached the blue wire to the 12VDC, and the Red to the load (Fuel Station pump), so there was no way for the module to get power to close the relay.

I removed the timer module, shorted the red/blue together and heard the fuel station for the first time since we got it, so confirmed it worked.

Swapping the blue/red connections was a little complicated because of how they wired things, so I decided to swap them at the connector. I created a small shim out of an aluminum can and was able to push it over the connector conductor to collapse the retaining prongs and pull the wire out. Once the blue/red wires were swapped - voila!. The relay in the timer module now turns on/off as it should with a quiet but audible click. I also went around to the fuel station, pulled the e-stop and verified it works as well.



Now a pet peeve I had to directly deal with while fixing this. I'm constantly amazed that these manufacturers don't seem to understand what type of screw to use for what application. They always use these flat head screws in non-countersunk applications, like so:



That's not the right application for this type of screw. Since it's attaching something flat to the edge of something else, it should be either a round/button-head screw like a short pocket-hole style screws they use everywhere else, they should counter-sink it or they should use a trim washer like this:

Where is the timer located? Is it also behind the panel nestled in the wiring?

My fuel gauge works fine but the pump does not.
Formula1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 03:54 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Old Bridge
Posts: 11
Just an FYI for everyone, since no one responded I pulled out the entire central command panel and the timer was sitting behind the panel. It was the same issue, the red and blue wires crossed. I jumped the two wires and the fuel pump came on. So next order of business was to switch the two wires.

Not sure how DustyGeek's wiring was different but it was simple to trace the two wires to where they were crimped into the load and 12VDC wires. I cut the crimp off and switched them with each other and crimped them back together. Now the fuel pump works. The timer, however, does not turn off with a second push of the button - I didn't want to run it out 15 minutes either to see if that worked, I simply shut it off at the safety shutoff valve near the pump itself. I'm not worried too much about the second push not working, simple enough work around, but big thanks to Dusty Geek for finding this out - if I didn't know this bit of info I would have had to get the TT warrantied and have to tie up hours of time towing it to a dealer.
Formula1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:48 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by farnik78 View Post
My fuel gauge doesn't work and never has. I took the thing loose.and there is no wires plugged into the prongs on the top of the gauge as you can see from the picture. Can anyone tell me if this is my problem? I took the whole panel off and couldn't find any wires that looked like they should be plugged in there.

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n...psxo06jgh7.jpg
maybe gauge was built with a light that jayco decided not to use?
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:52 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula1 View Post
Where is the timer located? Is it also behind the panel nestled in the wiring?

My fuel gauge works fine but the pump does not.
Sometimes i think they have monkeys building these things that couldnt care less. if theres a screw near them they just use it rather than look for the right one. i ran across lots of examples of this attitude on my trailer.
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 04:30 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Old Bridge
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula1 View Post
Just an FYI for everyone, since no one responded I pulled out the entire central command panel and the timer was sitting behind the panel. It was the same issue, the red and blue wires crossed. I jumped the two wires and the fuel pump came on. So next order of business was to switch the two wires.

Not sure how DustyGeek's wiring was different but it was simple to trace the two wires to where they were crimped into the load and 12VDC wires. I cut the crimp off and switched them with each other and crimped them back together. Now the fuel pump works. The timer, however, does not turn off with a second push of the button - I didn't want to run it out 15 minutes either to see if that worked, I simply shut it off at the safety shutoff valve near the pump itself. I'm not worried too much about the second push not working, simple enough work around, but big thanks to Dusty Geek for finding this out - if I didn't know this bit of info I would have had to get the TT warrantied and have to tie up hours of time towing it to a dealer.
Correction. I was doing it wrong - the timer button does work. It takes a double push but it needs to be (in my case) two distinct pushes. If I tried to do it quickly, it actually shut off and back on and I didn't realize it. Works perfect.
Formula1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 04:32 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Old Bridge
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by farnik78 View Post
My fuel gauge doesn't work and never has. I took the thing loose.and there is no wires plugged into the prongs on the top of the gauge as you can see from the picture. Can anyone tell me if this is my problem? I took the whole panel off and couldn't find any wires that looked like they should be plugged in there.

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n...psxo06jgh7.jpg
I have the same two wires that are not plugged in. Fuel gauge works fine for both fuel station and generator fuel - however, they are tied into the timer. The timer needs to be on for the fuel gauges to work. Found that out accidentally when the gauges wouldn't work - I messed around and found out I had to turn on the fuel pump timer for them to work.
__________________

Formula1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.