Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-21-2017, 06:12 AM   #1

Dollie or tow package

Good morning

I have a jayco ur 29. I am fairly new with it. It is a 2016. I am unsure which way to go. A dolly or s tow package. I have a Jeep Rubicon that weighs around 4200 pounds.

I weighed my RV last week. It weighed 17,280 fully loaded with s full tank of gas and plenty of equipment plus wife. It has a 18000 lb limit. And is supposed to tow 5000 lbs. Or a total of 23000 total.

If any of you use a dolly. Pros or cons?.

Getting ready to go crazy next year and go to Alaska.

Thanks for the help
Tarheel11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 06:37 AM   #2

We chose a dolly behind our 2016 Alante to tow a Chevrolet Spark. We've about 3,500 miles of satisfactory "experience" with no mishaps. Cons might include the extra time it takes to up and download the toad. Not a big chore in good weather but I've had to load in a driving rainstorm.. No fun. And no reverse, period! I made an error pulling into a small gas station resulting in my offloading the Spark and unhitching the dolly. Don't want to do that again! The pros would include a very smooth and stable ride and no running up the car's odometer.

Hope this helps.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
soperman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 07:04 AM   #3