Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-06-2015, 09:07 PM   #1

Generator on Precept

I drove my new Precept home today and he generator stopped by itself. I left it running while I got fuel and after it stopped at some point. Could unscrewing the gas cap do this? There was pressure on it when I opened it.
TheFireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 08:08 AM   #2

My genny would stop running while moving when I first got the motorhome. I have a lot of experience with small air cooled engines so figured it had an "oil sentry" device that shut it down if oil level was too low. I started watching it and sure enough, it was shutting down when I turned corners and the oil would slop to one side of the pan thereby triggering the low level switch.

I checked the oil level and found the factory had filled it just barely to the full line. I added a little more oil and it has not shut down since while driving.

It sounds like your problem may be the same - needs a little more oil in the genny.
an Aluma low bed trailer with HD Road King and/or Polaris RZR onboard
mowdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 09:02 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mowdoc View Post
My genny would stop running while moving when I first got the motorhome. I have a lot of experience with small air cooled engines so figured it had an "oil sentry" device that shut it down if oil level was too low. I started watching it and sure enough, it was shutting down when I turned corners and the oil would slop to one side of the pan thereby triggering the low level switch.

I checked the oil level and found the factory had filled it just barely to the full line. I added a little more oil and it has not shut down since while driving.

It sounds like your problem may be the same - needs a little more oil in the genny.
Good call...

JoeMazz is offline   Reply With Quote