Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2016, 06:21 AM   #1
Junior Member
boater1217's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Water Valley
Posts: 17
Just Venting (possibly)

First let me state that we are newbies, so during our orientation walk through we felt overwhelmed. We have been boaters for a long time so when getting a new one we have a pretty good idea on what to look for but with an RV we are clueless.

We took our 31UL, that we purchased at the end of January, in for some minor stuff to be ajusted or fixed. One of the adjustments was to raise the TV in the salon an inch so that the remote worked properly. The service guy said that he is not sure that the adjustment would be under warranty but he would "try" to get Jayco to cover it!

If I get charged the $120/her labor fee for the adjustment I will be talking to Jayco. From reading this forum and IRV2 I have noticed several owners have the same compliant, in fact the service guy said he had just fixed another unit with the same problem (Jayco did cover it). He insinuated that we should have noticed this during the walk through.

I guess my irritation is that there is even a question about this being under warranty.

So anyway, new buyers beware and SIT DOWN during the walk through and try the remote with the TV!

John & Linda Robinson
2016 Jayco Precept 31UL
boater1217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 06:32 AM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,809
The trouble with any PDI is that you will not catch everything. A really good dealer will be your advocate and work with you. That doesn't preclude Jayco from saying no, but keep in mind, and remind the dealer that the warranty is 2 years, not the 90 minutes during the PDI.

2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 06:47 AM   #3
Site Team
norty1's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,405
We had the same problem in our fifth wheel. I always thought that the newer remotes would work even if the remote was not a line of sight shot to the tv.....Wrong, must be old technology. I raised mine up 1.5 inches by moving a few bolts around and putting a 2 x 4 underneath the bottom rest. It goes down behind the fireplace so it's not visible. We have an aftermarket remote that works just fine but does not have all the features of the main one.

You are right, it is something that is a irritant and should be picked up by a engineer before hitting the consumer. Another idea would be to use a recliner that was 2 inches higher.
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 08:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 274
My question would be, if the service guy had recently fixed another unit with the same problem, why didn't HE catch it during PDI... or better yet, during prep of the unit before PDI...

2015 Jayco Jay Flight 26BH
2010 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Z71
Reese Dual Cam HP
Tekonsha P3 controller
Gone campin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
Grumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,521
Originally Posted by Gone campin View Post
My question would be, if the service guy had recently fixed another unit with the same problem, why didn't HE catch it during PDI... or better yet, during prep of the unit before PDI...
X-2 for sure.He should have also notified JAYCO of the common flaw.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
Griswald One's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Brooklin, Ontario
Posts: 353
I have not generally posted warm and fuzzy things about my dealer... But I will say their advocacy for warranty issues has been stellar. I have had the alignment done twice with none of the haggling and headaches many on this forum have described. They have worked on all of my slides to properly align them and this winter they found cracks in both my front pillars and arranged for their replacement immediately.

From a dealer perspective... It only makes sense, unless I completely misunderstand how warranties work. They bill Jayco and are reimbursed for the labour. Warranty issues keep their shops alive.

Griswald One - Life is a Misadventure!
2015 Greyhawk 29ME / Chevy Sonic
Griswald One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 10:09 AM   #7
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: McAlester
Posts: 57
I had my tv replaced because the wires scratched it when going up/ down. They replaced with a cheap TV that I could not change channels with the remote unless standing up. I took it back and they replaced with the original model TV. Everything fine now
TheFireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 10:32 PM   #8
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Cape May Court House
Posts: 45
I had the same problem with my TV. It is a two minute fix. Just loosen the four screws that mount the TV to bracket and slide it up one inch. The bracket has about two inches of slide adjustment to it. Just have someone lift the TV when you are loosening and tightening the screws. Very very easy fix.

Djtommysr is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.