Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-29-2012, 08:56 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

EMS Hardwire Install

I've been putting it off for a couple of years, but I finally broke down and purchased a Progressive Industries EMS (Electrical Management System), simply put "a surge protector".

The manufacture is Progressive Industries, and the model number is EMS-LCHW30. This is a hardwired in-line model with an integrated digital scrolling display, but there is another model that has a remote digital scrolling display (EMS-HW30C).

Some of the features of the EMS-LCHW30 are:

* Surge Protection
* High/Low Voltage Protection
* Polarity Protection
* A/C Compressor Time Delay
* Open Neutral/Open Ground Protection
* Display reads: Source Voltage, Amp Draw, Source Frequency, and Fault Codes
* The EMS box can be mounted horizontally or vertically, plus for viewing the digital display it has four plug-in positions to accommodate the EMS box mounting preference.

Manufacturer's Product Information: http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_lchw30.htm

I purchased my unit from: http://tweetys.com/electrical-manage...re-30-AMP.aspx They have been a great source for RV accessories, and will price match (which they did on my EMS purchase).

The installation:

Locating a place to install this particular unit will very depending on one's floor plan and 30amp wiring location. In my case the location I chose was ideal and provided a means for easy access and viewing of the display.

My water/cable/electrical connections are located at the street-side rear corner of my TT, and can be accessed inside the TT by sliding a panel out of the way:

What made the location ideal was that it also housed the junction box for the 30amp shore cable, so in theory all I had to do was replace the junction box with the EMS unit.