Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2016, 05:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milford
Posts: 426
Maxxair installation - how much Dicor?

Howdy all,

I am getting ready to order a couple Maxxair vent fans to replace the factory fixed vent and horrible bathroom vent. I am ordering everything I need from Amazon and wanted to make sure I get enough Dicor Lap Sealant.

Will 1 tube do 2 vents? Or do I need 2 tubes?

Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5BHDS (ordered 12/30/15, delivered 3/8/16)
2015 F-350 crew cab, short bed, 6.7L PSD, Pullrite Superglide 3300 hitch
Cdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 05:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
robkelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Duxbury
Posts: 3,704
If it was me, I'd go with two. Granted I put it on very heavy, but I used the whole tube when I replaced our bathroom vent, but even so, you don't want to try to get away with on tube only to find it's not quite enough.
__________________

__________________
Rob & Kelly, Bella & Brady (Miniature Schnauzers)
2016 Eagle 323LKTS
2016 Ram 2500 6.7L CTD
2015 White Hawk 29REKS Summit Edition (Traded)
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 05:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 852
You must be getting a different Maxxair than I have. Mine went over the top of the existing vent so required no sealant. It required drilling holes in the side of the existing vent and attaching the Maxxair to that.

On edit, went and looked at what's currently available and they no longer make the one I installed. So like Robkelly said, probably a couple of tubes of Dicor would ensure no shortage of caulk.
__________________
Don
------------
2015 Greyhawk 29MV
Honda CRV toad with Blue Ox baseplate
Ready Brute Elite towbar with braking system
Hughes autoformer
TST 507 Flowthru TPMS
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 07:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bismarck ND, USA
Posts: 48
I would get two and when I did mine I went with the remote. Works great. I still can't believe Jayco doesn't put these in on the line. Maybe someday.

Dave
Ultratravler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 08:06 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 8,929
get 2 tubes if you don't use the second one you will have for when you need to recalk somethink..
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
184 days boondocking in 2016
211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 04:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
troutslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW AR (God's Country)
Posts: 1,546
2 if you don't use EternaBond. Only one if you do.
__________________
Skip

2012 Eagle Super Lite HT 26.5RKS
2005 GMC 2500 SLT HD D/A
troutslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 02:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milford
Posts: 426
Got the bathroom vent fan installed yesterday. Installed the Maxx air deluxe model 6200, 10 speed reversible fan. Was a pretty easy swap and very happy with the unit. So much quieter and definitely moves more air, even at low speeds.

Used a whole tube of Dicor on 1 vent and didn't feel like I over did it. Definitely need at least one tube per vent.

Now if the model 7500 I ordered would show up so that I can swap the bedroom vent......
__________________
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5BHDS (ordered 12/30/15, delivered 3/8/16)
2015 F-350 crew cab, short bed, 6.7L PSD, Pullrite Superglide 3300 hitch
Cdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 04:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: wittmann
Posts: 46
I had same bath vent like yours on my 2016 Eagle didn't last a year before it cracked and started leaking.Dealer replaced with fantastic fan with 2 a way fan works great. Just have to add max air cover.
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 09:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 255
I just ordered the 7500 model for my bathroom. I dont trust the stock bathroom vent for the winter. Next spring, I'll do the bedroom one. I have a vent cover on the bedroom one, so no worries about water getting in. I felt the 7500 was best for the bathroom, plus, I didnt want to install a vent, and then a cover. I have mine in the dealer now, and Jayco said the fan isnt defective, that water will get in if open. Yeah, I understand that, but its not a traditional fan where you can add an aftermarket cover. Had to bite the bullet on this and just do my own thing
__________________

__________________
2015 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab with Timbrens
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS
spepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.