Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-27-2013, 01:15 AM   #1

Cdn vs US Product

I am new to TT's and looking at getting a Feather Ultra Lite X213. I was at an RV show last weekend in WA and the unit there was "show priced" at $21k. Returning back to Canada the dealer offered me the special price of $23.6k (Both in USD and before taxes and with comparable features). Both prices are before any attempt at negotiation.

I have researched importing to Canada and am not worried about the hassle of bringing to Canada but the Canadian sales guy was trying to claim different Canadian Standards to justify one reason for the higher Canadian price. Below is a copy of part of his email:

"As you consider a trailer purchase from the USA, I would like to once again address some points that most people aren't aware of. The first being that US and Canadian Recreational vehicles, even from the very same manufacturer are not created equal. Canadian units are built to a much higher standard due to strict regulations and safety requirements of our government, and must be Canadian certified. Safety is the biggest concern, and something as complex as gas lines are configured differently in a Canadian model opposed to a US one. Even the plumbing is different, and believe it or not the flooring in an American unit is not even glued down, where a Canadian unit is. The US flooring is just placed down and tacked onto the perimeter of the plywood, making it vulnerable to cracking in cold weather. This is acceptable, and meet the standards down south, but really does fall short here in Canada."

He also tried to tell me that Jayco Trailers purchased in the US would not have warranty work honoured in Canada and that I would have to pay everything out of pocket and try to recover and recover any outlays directly from Jayco.