Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-13-2015, 11:31 PM   #1

Replace tub with shower.

I have an 08 165. The bathroom is tight to say the least. We looked into buying a New larger TT but that just ain't in the budget. Biggest issue we have is the usability of the toilet. Just tossing out ideas. Has anybody replaced a tub with a shower. Would I gain the needed legroom? Is it worth it? Other idea is to tear down the interior wall and door and move it about 6 inches into the trailer. I can take this from the pantry as there is dead space there. But now I'm messing with structural stability. And I'd Have to extend the wall between the bath and bunks. By trade I'm a mechanical engineer not a carpenter. Working with any wood is always a challenge to me. And calling this stuff wood is a stretch. I'm not good at finish work. My idea is to install a shower and angle the toilet away from the interior wall and see if I can get the needed legroom. I see New Jayco models have this arrangement. Anybody got any ideas or feedback. I would like to keep using the existing drains. Moving them would open up a whole other can of issues. Other than plumbing what other issues would I face and need to overcome? Does any one have experience using showers and water overspray issues on these type of floors?
tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:45 PM   #2

Since you'd end up with a used trailer with a different floor plan why not just look at used trailers with a floor plan that suits your needs. I'm guessing you'd save money and up with a better product.
.......Roof Satellite Dish, Vent Covers, Bedroom Vent Fan,
.......Rear Reciever, 12V DC Outlets (6), 320W Solar & Controller,
.......4 Lifeline AGM Batteries (600 Ah @ 12V),
.......Stereo Upgraded, Interior Speaker Upgrade, Amp
Imnaha.Mansion is offline   Reply With Quote