Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2016, 06:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Saint Charles
Posts: 41
AC operation in Driveway 120 hook-up

On my 2016 Precept 31UL the Bedroom AC control does not come on when operating from house power. All other systems are go.
__________________

Nighthawk65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 130
I'm assuming you have a 50A plug with a dogbone or other adaptor that mates with your house 20A plug?

Has it worked before, and now suddenly it doesn't? Or is this your first time trying?

Check your circuit breakers?

My guess, if everything else looks OK and with the limited info I have, I would suspect your dogbone may be faulty and only supplying to one of the phases.
__________________

LkptRvPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Saint Charles
Posts: 41
Thanks for the reply, first time in driveway. Everything was operational at the PDI, checked breaker under the bed, going to check the fuse. Tried on Gen and it still didn't operate.
Nighthawk65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 07:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 130
When you tried the generator, did you unplug from house power?
LkptRvPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 08:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,037
Whether you are plugged in or not if you start the generator and it doesn't work you are either doing something wrong or there's a problem.
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 08:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Dustdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Orange County
Posts: 407
Are you connecting your 50 amp power cable to a standard 3-prong household 120v outlet with adaptors?
__________________
2006 Jayco Seneca 34SS
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Toad
Dustdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 09:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarkl View Post
Whether you are plugged in or not if you start the generator and it doesn't work you are either doing something wrong or there's a problem.
x2
__________________
2016 27BHS Elite
2012 F-150 EcoBoost / Max Tow
bansai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:36 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 492
Can I Plug In A RV To A Home Electrical System?

two problems.. Need a couple of adapters first and second limits on what that probably 20 amp circuit will run.

What wattage of Generator?

Still lots of questions unanswered.
__________________
2012 Honda Ridgeline
2016 195 RB

26,000 miles in one year. Never home!
Kim Gass is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 12:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 162
I plug my 15000 ac into my dryer plug using the dog bone, its on a 30 amp breaker. I should say never tried to run both 15000 on 100 plug.
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 01:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dustdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Orange County
Posts: 407
So, the way I understand it, when an RV has a 50 amp power system designed into it, it's essentially two separate 25 amp systems. The high power applicances are split up, so the two AC units will be on the two separate systems. When a 50 amp is adapted to a single 15/20 amp house circuit for 115vac, it's not supplying both circuits with 7.5 to 10 amps. It's supplying either one or the other circuit in the RV with 15/20 amps of 115 volt power, and the second circuit gets nothing. If that second AC unit is on the second circuit, it won't get power. Anything that is assigned to the second circuit is not powered, and which appliances and outlets that might be is up to the electrical engineer who designed the RV electrical circuits, and how they shared the load.

But there's more to the story. While your one roof AC might be on the circuit you see has power, and it may turn on, it is wise to check the voltage of that circuit inside the coach. If you are on the end of a long extension cord in addition to your RV's main power cord, going through several plug/receptacle combinations, you will see a voltage drop. The lower that voltage is at the coach, the more likely your AC compressor and fan motors will run hot. The lower the voltage, the hotter they run, and the sooner they fail. Running the AC and, say, a microwave at the same time on a long extension cord to your 115 volt 20 amp circuit in the garage is going to drop the ultimate voltage down even further. Personally, I would not run anything below about 108 or 109 volts, while these appliances are running.
__________________

__________________
2006 Jayco Seneca 34SS
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Toad
Dustdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.