Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-26-2016, 01:54 PM   #1

LED Ceiling Lights in Greyhawk

We have noticed that some of the ceiling lights in our 2015 are starting to dim. The hardwired lights are made from an array of 15 individual diodes (9 on the smaller over table/sofa lights). We are seeing some of these diodes dying and wondered if anyone else is having this issue. The dealer already replaced one bulb assembly under warranty since it was completely dead, but what about the others that are dying a slow death? Where to find replacement bulb arrays?
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1157.JPG   IMG_1156.JPG  
2017 Ford Edge w/Blue Ox Setup
To Yosemite... and Beyond!
MrJackSprat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 07:18 PM   #2

Our 5th is a '13 and came with all incandescent bulbs that I replaced with LED's. I'm not an expert by any means but I would think you could get an aftermarket plug-in style and clip the plug and solder in place of your dead LED unit. If you can remove the fixture and make sure there's no electronics in the fixture and not on the square card that'd be good to do before diving in but I'd bet it's all on the card. I bought all of mine from a supplier in China and got extras. I've had a couple of failures so the spares come in handy.

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:13 PM   #3

I would just replace the dead diode with a socket. Then you can have whatever LED you want, and if it ever fails, you just pop a new one in, just like if a standard bulb blew.