Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-03-2016, 07:57 AM   #1

Lost power to some receptacles briefly

I am a newbie to this forum so hopefully I am posting correctly. I recently purchased a used 2001 32 RLTS FW. When we use shore power we run off a 3500W portable generator. Everything was working when suddenly while Mrs. was blow drying her hair we lost power to some receptacles, namely on bedroom wall and for living room tv. I checked and reset all breakers, pulled the receptacles and checked for loose wires and found nothing. The bathroom sink and outside receptacles are labeled as GFCI but they appear to be regular receptacles, possibly switched out by previous owner? (no reset button). They both had power. I swapped the leads between the water heater and the receptacle breakers and the heater still worked. After a couple days of messing around with VOM and flipping breakers I found the receptacles had power again but I have no idea why. I did pull a broken ground pin out of the tv receptacle? I fear a loose wire connection somewhere that could cause a fire. Any suggestions? I have a good VOM and I'm generally "as handy as a pocket on a shirt".
tcfdgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:16 AM   #2

Just a suggestion that there is 1 GFCI receptacle that several others are slaved off of.

In your search for a cause, you reset "an unrelated" device without mentally connecting it to your problem.

Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:52 AM   #3