Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2016, 07:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 3
Lost power to some receptacles briefly

I am a newbie to this forum so hopefully I am posting correctly. I recently purchased a used 2001 32 RLTS FW. When we use shore power we run off a 3500W portable generator. Everything was working when suddenly while Mrs. was blow drying her hair we lost power to some receptacles, namely on bedroom wall and for living room tv. I checked and reset all breakers, pulled the receptacles and checked for loose wires and found nothing. The bathroom sink and outside receptacles are labeled as GFCI but they appear to be regular receptacles, possibly switched out by previous owner? (no reset button). They both had power. I swapped the leads between the water heater and the receptacle breakers and the heater still worked. After a couple days of messing around with VOM and flipping breakers I found the receptacles had power again but I have no idea why. I did pull a broken ground pin out of the tv receptacle? I fear a loose wire connection somewhere that could cause a fire. Any suggestions? I have a good VOM and I'm generally "as handy as a pocket on a shirt".
__________________

tcfdgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,746
Just a suggestion that there is 1 GFCI receptacle that several others are slaved off of.


In your search for a cause, you reset "an unrelated" device without mentally connecting it to your problem.
__________________

__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:52 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 3
Well that was my original thought, I went looking for every receptacle and only found the 2 marked as GFCI but they were regular receptacles. Again the trailer is new to me and I suspect the previous owner replaced the GFCI receptacles with regular ones because he was having electrical problems. I'll keep an eye on things and see if it happens again....if it does I'll hear about it "cause Momma won't be able to blow dry her hair!...thanks for replying.
tcfdgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 10:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcfdgib View Post
Well that was my original thought, I went looking for every receptacle and only found the 2 marked as GFCI but they were regular receptacles. Again the trailer is new to me and I suspect the previous owner replaced the GFCI receptacles with regular ones because he was having electrical problems. I'll keep an eye on things and see if it happens again....if it does I'll hear about it "cause Momma won't be able to blow dry her hair!...thanks for replying.
I just wanted to make sure you are understanding correctly. I think you missed what Mike was trying to tell you.

The receptacles that you found marked as GFCI but looked like regular receptacles ARE, in fact, regular receptacles. But they are fed from a GFCI receptacle. If the GFCI trips they will loose power.

I hope that clears up your GFCI understanding.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 10:39 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 3
Thanks, I do believe I have the GFCI part figured out. What I have is GFCI circuits that now have not got any GFCI's in them because someone has put regular ones in place. There are no GFCI's on any circuit now. This makes me even more suspicious of a pre-existing electrical issue. Thanks for helping clarify.
tcfdgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 10:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
ALJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sparwood, BC
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
As explained GFCI's are daisy chained.
When someone replaced the main GFCI plug with a regular outlet (Not an good idea) all are classified as a regular outlets on that circuit. In case of overload the breaker will trip and there is no GFCI protection.

Problems with RV outlet installation they just use the wire stick in which can fail under load. The best way is to install the wiring under the available screws.
Many use 1500 watt electric heaters what takes up close to the full amount of a circuit breaker. Don't make shortcuts in your electrical wiring do it the proper way and follow the electrical codes. It doesn't take much to see an RV go up in flames.
__________________

__________________
2014 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 3.92 Rear and Air Lift 1000
2005 Jayco Jay Feather LGT - 29Y GVWR-6500 lbs.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power

ALJO 'Forever Young @ Heart' provide on their travels Music Entertainment to Senior Care Homes
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.