Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 11:57 AM   #11
Senior Member
av8arkie's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 224
Mine is in the battery compartment. Id say if you dont have one there you dont have one!

Stephen & Lori
Jordan (Our daughter)
Kitty & Elmore (Our 2 dumped cats)
Adopt a shelter pet!

2009 Jayco Designer 37RLQS
2011 GMC Denali 3500 Duramax Crew Cab 4X4 Dually
20K Curt Q5 hitch
av8arkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 03:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
RVhiker's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,100
Thanks for the replies. I know that not everyone is interested in a battery disconnect, but for those of us who don't have our trailer hooked up to AC all the time, they can be helpful.

It does work, of course, to remove a battery cable. But, you have to remember to do it, and to hook it again before you tow again, or you don't have any break-away brakes. Anyway, my last trailer had one, and and I got spoiled.

I'm going to install a battery disconnect switch next to my converter. There, I can rig it so that it only turns off battery power to all the interior equipment; the break-away will still be powered, and I believe that the slide and landing jacks will still be powered.

I'll post some pictures when I get it done, but it will be awhile; my list of "to-do's" is quite long. It's like moving into a new house.

There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 03:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
Terry's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Just another take on this ---

Before I had permanent wiring for my trailer, I used to disconnect the battery cable. About 6 months into it, I started having low voltage under load in the TT when on battery. What I discovered was my exposed cables developed a thin layer of corrosion and caused the issue.

Bottom line, if I did not have shore power I would want a cut off switch in order to keep my connections nice and tight.
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 09:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,274
You are correct Crabman. I really don't think my batteries would last close to two weeks. Some of us could use a switch and some of us don't need one.
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
Dodge SRW 1 ton Cummins powered.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 04:10 AM   #15
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW IL
Posts: 15
I just pull the 30 amp fuse as well.
mlrtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 08:41 AM   #16
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: White Salmon, Wa.
Posts: 550
Well I know that on my new TT that batterys didnt last two weeks when the converter went bad obout week and a half and everthing in trailer was dead batterys only read 6volts on both but cut off switch would not have helped I was hooked up to power.
Old Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:10 AM   #17
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by mlrtwo View Post
I just pull the 30 amp fuse as well.
Me too. When winterizing the trailer last fall, I pulled the fuse, but didn't get to take the battery inside for the winter due to a last-minute work-related trip. The battery remained outside all winter (and I live in Ottawa, Canada, the second-coldest capital in the world), and the battery still had a full charge in the spring (much to my surprise). Now, I don't recommend doing this, as I was LUCKY that my battery didn't freeze; I'm just making the point that removing the fuse will do the same thing as a battery-disconnect switch.

12_AMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:21 AM   #18
Senior Member
jamoke's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 269
If your thinking of adding a switch, then why not replace the cheap fuse holder too with a combo breaker/switch. I use these on my boat and love em.
I plan on making many mods this fall/winter and adding two of these breakers are on the to-do list.

Blue Sea Systems - 187 Series Breaker

Large Picture
2010 Dodge Ram 2500 Big Horn 4x4
2011 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5RLS
jamoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 01:06 PM   #19
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 136
I just installed a Marinco "Park Power 701" series switch.

The fuse was inside the battery box, so pulling it was never an option. The cutoff is wired such that the tow vehicle and breakaway brakes are ALWAYS connected, regardless of the switch position. I also have a 2-Pin flat harness exposed for connection of a 1 watt solar panel whilst in storage.
RustyFairmount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 03:43 AM   #20
Senior Member
mcfarmall's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, West Michigan
Posts: 1,815
Make sure you keep the battery clean, especially the top. Dust, dirt, and grime will conduct enough electricity to discharge the battery over a period of time.

2006 23B Hybrid with 10k round bar WDH
2011 F150 4x4 SCREW Ecoboost, Max Tow, Integrated TBC, 3.73 LS axle, Firestone Ride Rite airbags.
mcfarmall is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.