Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-31-2013, 10:26 AM   #1

New guy in the neighborhood with water leak

I just got a 2007 23FB Jay Flight that is very clean but was not maintained. I suspect because it was never used. It's my first TT and I'm learning at lot. I'm also a pretty fair carpenter.

Now to my problem. While cleaning out the left front storage area I notice a softness in the front wall. On further investigation I discovered rot from the bottom left corner over to the right about 18" and then up to the bottom of the diamond plate over at the left front. A triangle shape. My plan is to pull the diamond plate and make the repair but I have a couple of question for anyone that has done this or seen it done.

1. Do I need to pull the moulding that seals the front left and right edges, where the side walls meet the front, all the way to the top or can I stop at the top of the diamond plate? This moulding is, of course, where the leak is coming from. Just not certain where.

2. Assuming I pull the moulding all the way to the top, is it glued on by the sealant or are there screws under the center rubber moulding? Can I order this moulding from Jayco or can I remove it carefully and reuse?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Upon further investigating I realize the framing is still solid and only the thin plywood has rotted. So why not repair/replace the seal on the corners and then just repair the plywood inside the storage area. Does that sound good?

Mickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:46 PM   #2