Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-09-2016, 08:16 AM   #1

Newbie here looking for directions on battery connection >>

A few days ago, I purchased a 2002 Starcraft Star Shuttle tent trailer minus the battery. The wife (whose husband had just passed away) didn't know where the leads go and frankly, neither do I. I can hook up a car battery but when it comes to this, I'm lost. As you can see in the photo, the red wire and white wire are taped together. The red wire has a small fuse box with a 20 amp fuse in it. The white has nothing. Now enter this third wire. It starts faded red, turns to yellow with an empty fuse box and ultimately to black.

Now I would "guess", the red is positive and the white is negative? What's up with the third wire with the empty fuse box? What does it do if anything? What size fuse should be in there? Was this an add on at some point?

In short, how do I hook this thing up? lol

Dave Marskell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 08:54 AM   #2

White negative, red positive, fuse is probably out because the previous owner pulled it to help with battery drain.....or because there was a problem. Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 06-09-2016, 09:09 AM   #3

This guy mucked up the wiring something fierce In RV's Black is Positive and white is negative. Trace those wires back to the factory wiring and go from there..
93/2020,157/2019219/2018 206/2017,215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 09:23 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
This guy mucked up the wiring something fierce In RV's Black is Positive and white is negative. Trace those wires back to the factory wiring and go from there..