Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-06-2013, 03:36 AM   #1

questions about roof satellite antenna

Our used 2004 Designer 5er came with a Winegard crank up satellite antenna, which we have never used. To date, we have only used the television for DVD movies. With retirement just around the corner, longer trips are being considered, and we are interested in limited use of the satellite for news and an occasional program on rainy days.

I am a complete novice when it comes to satellite TV reception, and am wondering what you have to do to get it functioning. Do you have to go to one of the major companies and get a subscription ? If so, how does that work for intermittent use, as opposed to a regular home system that is used every day ? Sorry to be so ignorant, but any help or suggestions would be welcome and appreciated.
Retired at last !

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
tinlizzie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 08:13 AM   #2

I cant answer how you get setup for SAT TV but here is what we did to watch SAT TV a few years back.

We were using a portable satellite dish setup. Mine has two heads on it so I can run a RG cable to to the front room SAT RCVR and to the Bedroom area SAT RCVR receiver. Then I run a RGB cable from SAt RECEIVER and connect to the VIZIO TV video input. All i do to watch SAT TV in grab the remote and switch to VIDEO 1. I can still use the camp ground CABLE SETUP when I select TV on the VIZIO TV.