Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-18-2016, 09:23 AM   #1

TV only runs on gen or shore

I have a 06 Seneca 35gs. I'm new to RVs and this is my first. Iv been reading posts but still can't find my problem. On the control panel the inverter switch the light doesn't light up when pushing the button. I checked the fuses and power input under the closet and the reset behind the vent panel and they are fine. I also checked the breakers. With the gen the tv has a whine in the sound that sounds out the sound on the TV. I'm having a sat receiver installed tomorrow and was hoping the kids would be able to watch while driving. Our first trip is 30 hours of driving.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Old 08-18-2016, 10:28 AM   #2

There may be a second fuse between the battery bank and the inverter. Inverter's input is 12vdc from that system, and the output is 120v. I would grab a voltmeter and check input to the inverter first. If no 12v, then its a problem upstream. Check fuses, ground connection of the negative battery cables, and other power connections in between. If it has 12v present, but no 120 ac at the output terminals, it's likely a bad inverter, or possibly just a remote switch. And if it has 120v output at the terminals when switched on, but none at the television power outlet, it's gotta be a circuit breaker, a fuse, or a loose connection. If it has power all the way to the television outlet and the tv still won't power up, then it's your tv.
Old 08-18-2016, 10:50 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustdevil View Post