Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
Zad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Will a Supco spp6 Hard Start Capacitor help me? Pics of my ac electronics...

I am wondering if I need a hard start capacitor given what my Coleman Mach 13,500 btu has in it? I am wanting to use a 2400ishc yamaha generator and want to make sure it works with as little effort as possible. If a supco spp6 would help, how would I hook it up. Here are pics of what I have:
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0295.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	8027Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0296.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	8028
__________________

__________________
2009 Jayco 25BHS
2007 Chevy CCSB LBZ Duramax
Zad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
Zad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Hi Again,
Just to be clear, I planned to use the spp6, NOT the spp6e as per a discussion with a tech at supco.
__________________

__________________
2009 Jayco 25BHS
2007 Chevy CCSB LBZ Duramax
Zad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 09:00 PM   #3
Zad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
I guess I am having a nice conversation with myself here...kinda like talking out loud it would seem. So, I found another thread:

http://www.modmyrv.com/2009/05/27/rv...tart-capacitor

and from this thread I learned that the small round black cylinder is the OEM start capacitor. What is interesting is that the OEM part has 88-108 mfd on it and I am assuming this means that the
stock start capacitor is as powerful as the supco unit and thus that the supco would not provide any additional power to startup. Looking forward to hearing from those of you who know much more than I...an easy task.
__________________
2009 Jayco 25BHS
2007 Chevy CCSB LBZ Duramax
Zad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zad View Post
I guess I am having a nice conversation with myself here...kinda like talking out loud it would seem. ...
My Grandfather always quipped that there was nothing wrong with talking to yourself... it was when you start arguing loudly that it may indicate a problem.

I'm not an HVAC expert. In my experience hard start components are generally used when there are problems with a compressor unit. Sometimes the added hard start will buy some time on a sealed compressor unit which is having problems. There is generally nothing to lose so it is worth a shot. Sometimes it extends the service time of the unit for a long time.

If hard start design was a good thing it would be included on all units OEM. Within most designs there is compromise. There can be problems associated with changing the capacitor values from OEM. It can introduce unwanted voltage spikes and affect the starting torque of a unit. In my opinion the hard start units are a maintenance tool and bandaid for sealed compressor problems. I don't think that I would install one on an otherwise good A/C unit.

Perhaps my comments will get someone with more information to chime in. Good luck. vic
__________________
Double Secret Probation
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 09:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
For what it is worth, I had a Coleman Mach AC unit on our previous Jacyo (2009 321 FKS) My KIPOR 3000 gen set would not start the AC eventhough it started the AC unit on our previous RV. I e-mailed the Coleman address found on the owners manual and explained my problem. They wanted the Model and Serial number. Once I gave them that information the told me the part number of a soft start cap that was compatable with my unit. Cost $18.00 from my Jayco dealor including shipping and took 5 minutes for me to install. Worked like a charm. Never had any problems after that.
__________________
hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:10 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
I am looking to make purchase of same generator you mention with 2011 Jayco 5th wheel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zad View Post
I am wondering if I need a hard start capacitor given what my Coleman Mach 13,500 btu has in it? I am wanting to use a 2400ishc yamaha generator and want to make sure it works with as little effort as possible. If a supco spp6 would help, how would I hook it up. Here are pics of what I have:
Attachment 8027Attachment 8028
Same AC unit you mention as well. Have you tried yet? And if so what where results. Thanks
jabel95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Camping Couple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 716
Hi Zad....

To install the hard start kit...just follow the directions that came with the kit. I'm not familiar with the supco kit you are talking about. I am an HVAC contractor for 25+ years. I typically use OEM recommended parts for a hard start kit...capacitors, relay I purchase seperately. Usually the kits come with detailed instructions. If you lived close by....I'd come by and hook it up for you no charge :-).
Camping Couple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:54 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Dometic and Coleman roof air units already have start components. The hard start kit thing is something that got started on the Internet and people who knew nothing about air conditioners decided that they needed one, or they think it will compensate for a cheap generator. You will cause more problems by piggy-backing a hard start kit on a unit that already has a start capacitor and relay.
Also, if you have to ask how to install one, that's a good sign that you shouldn't even be thinking of ordering one. Leave stuff like that to the AC guys.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 01:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Camping Couple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Landry View Post
Dometic and Coleman roof air units already have start components. The hard start kit thing is something that got started on the Internet and people who knew nothing about air conditioners decided that they needed one, or they think it will compensate for a cheap generator. You will cause more problems by piggy-backing a hard start kit on a unit that already has a start capacitor and relay.
Also, if you have to ask how to install one, that's a good sign that you shouldn't even be thinking of ordering one. Leave stuff like that to the AC guys.
Thanks Bob for the help. DIY and HVAC dont mix. I should have said that before. I've been in the HVAC field for along time and have seen some weird stuff people do and it creates more work for us and hassles as well.
Camping Couple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 07:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
I an appreciate that. I've been a Dometic Marine AirConditioning servicing dealer for 15 years, so I do know a little bit about it myself. If you read enough of these threads on various forums it will become evident that there are a lot of people offering air conditioner advice that do not know a thing about it. Everyone's solution is a hard start kit or a run capacitor, or it needs freon.

The rooftop units that the manufactures decide need start components already have them. If they do not, it's because the design engineers decided that because of low starting amperage, or whatever, it's not needed. Occasionally, a compressor in a system that does not contain one will develop a need it. That's usually is because of something changing in the compressor or it needs a little help with a generator. What most people don't seem to understand is that the suppco hard start kits are nothing more than a start capacitor and a start relay. They also don't understand the effect of combining capacitors, thinking that more is better, it isn't.

All of that said, forums are what they are and you just have to learn to weed out the good information from that is just posted because someone just wanted to jump in and post something.
__________________

__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.