Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-15-2016, 05:35 PM   #1

2010 dodge ram 1500 5.7 big horn????

hello, I have this 2010 ram 1500 4X4 quad cab w/ 5.7 hemi. short bed. I have a 2014 jayflight 22fb and I'm looking to possibly upgrade and found this excellent condition 2010 sundance 265rk 5th wheel. I'm not good at figuring this stuff out and was wondering if I were able to tow this 5th wheel or do I need to upgrade to a ram 2500 (which I cant afford right now?? and tips or info would be helpful.
the truck I have now is the Ram big horn package with the 20' wheels
seaswirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:43 AM   #2
Lost in the Woods

You'll have to look at the payload available in your truck on the yellow sticker on your door and figure out how much weight is in your truck when you go camping (passengers, kids, dogs, coolers etc.) and subtract this from the payload sticker to get your remaining available payload.

5th wheels generally have a pin weight of 15 to 20% of the fully loaded trailer, so if this amount exceeds your remaining available payload, you would be exceeding the rated capacities of your truck. Finally you need to verify that the Rear Axle Rating of your truck would not be exceeded with the pin weight of the trailer you are considering.