Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-17-2017, 01:43 PM   #1

2014 Silverado tire upgrade time

Need to replace my stock tires for my 1500 silverado 4wd crew cab. Stock tires are (265 /65 R18). Picking up a 2017 x23b in april and looking for help on getting the correct tires for the tow. Do i go with the same LT tires or would it be safer to go with a heavier load tire. Should i be looking for a wider or taller size? Not sure how it all effects things when towing as i am new to towing a TT of this size.
If anyone has a similar set up and knows the pros and cons it would be greatly appreciated. Safety, performance, longevity all important!
Thanks in advance for the help

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
Jason25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 02:02 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason25 View Post
Need to replace my stock tires for my 1500 silverado 4wd crew cab. Stock tires are (265 /65 R18). Picking up a 2017 x23b in april and looking for help on getting the correct tires for the tow. Do i go with the same LT tires or would it be safer to go with a heavier load tire. Should i be looking for a wider or taller size? Not sure how it all effects things when towing as i am new to towing a TT of this size.
If anyone has a similar set up and knows the pros and cons it would be greatly appreciated. Safety, performance, longevity all important!
Thanks in advance for the help

I wouldn't change the size of the tire but you might consider moving up to a load range E which would have the added benefit of having a stiffer sidewall. This will help with sway and give you a more "controlled" feeling. It will give you a stiffer ride when empty though.
2019 Open Range 310BHS - (a Jayco Division)
drk98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 02:18 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by drk98 View Post