Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-05-2015, 08:11 PM   #1

5th Wheel Hitch Suggestions??

Since I will be "looking" at a new 5th wheel tomorrow, I need to ask for some wisdom and education. I have never towed a 5th wheel before, but have towed from the bumper since I was 16. I did use the search function above, but didn't come up with the info. I'm looking for.

My question is what are the recommended 5th wheel hitchs that you are using...specifically with my application a Ram with a Megacab. My buddy told me to get a B&W Companion and forget about everything else. From my readings and my lack of towing a 5er, I would think I need a slider?? What are the better brands and what are your suggestions?? Any help/knowledge is VERY much appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!
Dan
Old 06-05-2015, 11:10 PM   #2

I am new to this 5th wheel experience as well, never pulled one until April when we purchased our first. We have a sb Silverado so I went with the Pullrite Superglide; it slides without having to pull any additional levers. For the extra cost I have the peace of mind of not breaking a window, damaging the truck or trailer because I forgot. Trust me when I say I would forget sooner or later and the cost of repair would probable be more than I paid for the hitch. In my signature picture you can see the trailer at a 90 degree angle no problem. Good luck and enjoy!!!

Freenaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 03:52 AM   #3

Congrats!