Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2016, 04:47 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Kingsport
Posts: 60
Bottom line is Jayco in my opinion is slacking somewhere in their brakes. I have had older Jay's and the brakes worked correctly but I can't say that about my new one
__________________

__________________
Jim & Bee in TN
2007 2500HD Silverado Classic
2016 321RSTS 5er
Gobbledot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 03:26 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
BuddyRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Decatur
Posts: 621
Took the unit back to the storage yard Friday. Forgot that there are two brake settings on the F150 - one is a Low/Med/High intensity setting in the configuration page. Then there is the 1-10 setting on the brake controller.
I forgot my intensity was set to Med. Changed it to HIGH and the controller to 10.
I still don't feel like the brakes are strong enough and I definitely can't lock them up, but it's better - and tolerable for now.

I need to figure out a way to determine the actual voltage being sent to the brakes during operations. Need to do that under the dash somewhere I guess.

Still haven't tried pulling the breakaway switch test yet - Didn't have time Friday.
__________________

__________________
Buddy Ray - Atlanta
---------------
Jayco 2016 Eagle HT 26.5RLS
Ford 2016 F150 Lariat, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost
Max Tow Pkg, 36gal tank
Reese Sidewinder and Reese Titan 16k hitch
BuddyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 03:20 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Regina
Posts: 161
DO you have a multimeter? if so have a friend vary how much brake pressure is applied while you check the correct pin for the electrical hookup with the multimeter.
Jm9301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 05:22 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
BuddyRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Decatur
Posts: 621
Yes, I have a voltmeter but that wouldn't work well. The Ford brake controller doesn't send power to the brakes when the vehicle is stopped like a Prodigy does. The Ford controller has to sense the vehicle stopping.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Buddy Ray - Atlanta
---------------
Jayco 2016 Eagle HT 26.5RLS
Ford 2016 F150 Lariat, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost
Max Tow Pkg, 36gal tank
Reese Sidewinder and Reese Titan 16k hitch
BuddyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 05:24 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
ctbailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by homer1959 View Post
My God , what an answer ..... that really help ! Like if the f150 brake controler is too small for a fiver..... and you could see from your keyboard that he was driving too fast.... wow !!! Now we all know what when wrong...thanks for your input
I totally agree with levinhikeski. Half ton pickup hailing way too much trailer, of course stopping will be the problem. The engines on those ecos are super strong. But there's a reason ford still classifys them as half ton trucks.

If a 30 foot fiver does not overload that f150 I'd be surprised.
ctbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 05:31 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Regina
Posts: 161
Interesting on the factory control, maybe that's where the issue is?
Jm9301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 08:23 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
BuddyRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Decatur
Posts: 621
Reviving a pretty old thread here - but I finally got my wife to help me check the voltage on the TV break (pin 2). I had a *facepalm* moment when I realized that I had two 7 way connectors in the truck (one in the bed and one on the bumper). Hooked the meter to the bumper while the 5er was hooked to the bed connector and had wife use manual control on dash. I verified the following:
On a 2015 F150 with Integrated controller and "intensity" set to HIGH, a Gain setting of 10 does produce 10v on pin 2.
Based on my old TT which would lock the brakes up at about 2.5 volts, that's a lot of power. SO I now believe the problem with weak brakes is in the Jayco.

Something else interesting. Although we've had this 26.5 Eagle HT since March, this past weekend was the first time I've towed it in a driving rain (we're in a drought in Ga. folks!) This is also the first time I felt like the brakes were really working. They were still on High, Gain 10. And I still couldn't lock the brakes up. But if I used the manual control I could stop both the Truck and 5er in a reasonable distance with just the electric brakes. And I could feel the trailer helping me stop under normal conditions. In fact the brakes were surging a bit like the drums needed turning.

NOW the question is - why did it work in the rain and will it still work once the brakes dry out (still raining as I type this a day later). Possible reasons?
1) I had grease on the plates and the magnets were sliding - rain washed off some of the grease?
2) I have a loose electrical connection and the water in a junction or wire nut improved the connection temporarily?
3) It just decided to start working - and had nothing to do with the rain.

In any event - I think I now have enough data for a trip to the Dealer.
__________________
Buddy Ray - Atlanta
---------------
Jayco 2016 Eagle HT 26.5RLS
Ford 2016 F150 Lariat, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost
Max Tow Pkg, 36gal tank
Reese Sidewinder and Reese Titan 16k hitch
BuddyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:30 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyRay View Post
...snip....
I verified the following:
On a 2015 F150 with Integrated controller and "intensity" set to HIGH, a Gain setting of 10 does produce 10v on pin 2.
Based on my old TT which would lock the brakes up at about 2.5 volts, that's a lot of power. SO I now believe the problem with weak brakes is in the Jayco.
...snip...
In any event - I think I now have enough data for a trip to the Dealer.
Keep in mind that electric trailer brakes do not work purely on voltage.

The signal to the brake magnets is adjusted using Pulse-Width-Modulation.

A full 13-14V (as supplied by the alternator), 10+Amps (available) is sent as a square wave with an adjusted duty cycle. 10% on, 90% off = very weak braking. 50/50=moderate braking. 100% = Full braking.

Trying to measure the DC Volts of that signal will get you nowhere very quickly. An oscilloscope will give you much more useful information.

Also keep in mind that automakers are in the ABS mindset right now. Total lockup of any brakes is unacceptable.

On the other hand, when I replaced the axle in my first TT, I found the wires to the brakes had been pinched under one of the U-bolts holding the axle to the spring, shorting both to ground. The original owner must've gone nuts trying to get the brakes to work properly (I found evidence of at least 4 magnet changes). After the axle swap, I could adjust the brake controller so the trailer handled it's own mass very nicely.

So, you are pretty sure you have a problem.

Did you try pulling the breakaway yet? See if it is a controller issue or a trailer issue.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 10:47 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,369
Have you done the trailer brake test while hooked up?

When I was first dialing in the gain setting on my ford, I went through their directions. They have you set the gain around 6 I believe initially, drive 25mph somewhere without traffic behind you and then manually hit that lever on the brake controller. Per Ford, if your trailer brakes don't lock up, dial up the gain until they do--- and then lower the gain 1 notch so you are basically just shy of full lockup when you manually apply full TT brakes. I have my gain set at 9. (I thought that was a bit high... but it's what I needed)... 10 doesn't sound completely unreasonable based on my experience so far with this one. Maybe our TT brakes just suck?
__________________
2016 27BHS Elite
2012 F-150 EcoBoost / Max Tow (Sale Pending)
2017 F-250 Lariat (Factory Ordered on 4/20)
bansai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 11:00 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 767
I have towed heavy trailers with my '09 F350 with integrated controller. Using the setup guide as per ford my Arctic Fox brakes would lock using a setting of 8 during the low speed/manual application test. My brakes on my Jayco will not lock with the controller maxed, however i can definitely feel they are working.

When I pull the emergency pin they are locked.

Keep in mind when you pull that pin to test the system you do not want to keep it pulled for long. Test the system and get it back in place. Your throwing full voltage from your batteries to the system and if left pulled it will melt wires and ruin the brakes.

I'm not sure what my expectations should be or whether or not I consider this a problem yet. I don't feel I have an issue stopping the rig and while I haven't tried to lock everything up and do a total panic stop I have been fairly agressive just testing the systems. I'll probably talk to my dealer about it and have him give it a look over this winter.
__________________

__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.