Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-15-2016, 09:18 PM   #1
Diesel vs Gas

Just return from our first trip with our 29' 2016 Jay Flight. I think we are pretty close to our maximum weight for our 2010 F150 as our trip had a few exciting moments and bumps. Looking to move up to a F250 or 2500HD for a safer ride. I was going to stick with regular gas as I thought diesels were noisy and required more maintenance. But as I review forums and after talking with our new snowbird friends, I think we should consider the diesel. I have no experience with diesels. What are some of the pros and cons?

2016 29RKS
2010 F150 4x4 5.4L
E2 WDH w/sway bars

Mike01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 10:06 PM   #2
Pros- Tourque and HP, engine braking, longevity, maintains value better. MPG's

Cons- emissions and all the troubles that come with the new regulations making manufacturers put more and more stuff on the engine and need for DEF, higher PM costs, higher initial purchase price (about 8 grand for a Ford 6.7), fuel price per gallon is more (at least in PA where I live.)

Many say you get the investment back over years of service but I don't really buy into that. I could run a gasser for a long time before I see any true savings driving a diesel.

All this said I owned a 2012 Ford Super Duty with the 6.2 gasser and traded it in for a 6.7 diesel........no regrets!

Knauby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 10:11 PM   #3
I bought a 2500 a few months ago, 6.0l gas Sierra, love it but if money was not an option I'd be driving a duramax. I'd love the torque but for me it made no sense. Only tow 25 times a year, and most of the miles I put on my truck are short commutes to work.
2015 29QBS
2015 Sierra 2500 6.0l
2009 Silverado (gone and missed!)
canadiankid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 10:53 PM   #4
Prepare for the onslaught, this is certainly a topic with varying opinions! Here are a few of my observations.