Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-01-2017, 09:13 AM   #1

Feeling a little nervous

I did a lot of homework regarding towing capacity before I bought this new camper. I browsed the threads on here and did a lot of internet searching. Being a total newbie to towing something this large, I can’t help feeling like I’m missing something.

My truck is a 2013 F150 4x4 Supercrew with a 6.5’ bed, 5.0 liter V8, a 3.55 axle ratio and, of course, a towing package.

I haven’t weighed it yet, but the curb weight is “supposed to be” 5,586 pounds. Based on my homework, that is supposed to be with a full tank of gas. I’ll have to weigh it to get an accurate weight.

The towing capacity for this truck is 7,500 pounds.

According to Jayco’s specs on the 2017 26BH, the tongue weight is 525 pounds and the dry vehicle weight is 4,805 pounds.

The water heater and two tanks hold 90 gallons of water. That’s around 750 pounds.

So, based on the idea that the listed curb weight is close, the gassed up truck and the trailer loaded with water should weigh 11,141 pounds.

The GCWR for my truck is 13,500. Without any gear, I’m 2,359 pounds below the limit.

The towing capacity is 7,500 pounds, and the trailer filled with water and no other gear is 5,555 pounds. That’s 1,945 pounds below the limit.

I’m assuming that the weight of that heavy weight distributing hitch gets added to the weight of the truck, right? That’s probably around 80 – 100 pounds.

So here are the questions that I have for you:

Where would you draw the line on cargo weight that I could safely add to this load? On an average hunting excursion, I would guess that I carry between 300 to 500 pounds of gear.

If I were making a hunting trip alone and had to carry my 600 pound ATV in the bed of my truck, would it be safe?