Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-11-2016, 09:47 AM   #1

New 355MBQS, maybe.

Hi all,

New to the forum, but I have been pulling a 35' Sprinter TT for 11 years now, and a 30' Pioneer TT for many years before that.

We are now looking at the 355MBQS as a trailer to use to finish our 2 kids through highschool, and lead us into retirement. (Hopefully)

I have a 2003 GMC Serria 2500HD with the Duramax/Allison combo.
9200GVWR 14,900 towing.

Looking to get the Reese Revolution pin box on the trailer. Pullrite Super Rails kit with the B&W Patriot 16K 5th wheel as it will fit the industry standard Super Rail kit and leave the bed empty when not towing.

My wife had looked at at a 5th wheel that was 43' long and 15,500lbs GVWR with a 2500lb dry pin. I told her this was too heavy/long for our current truck and a new truck isn't in the budget.

Enter the 355MBQS.
13750lb GVWR 2150lb dry pin.

I took a load of old carpet to the dump while we were putting in hardwood, and the truck weight was 7020lbs with the family, and 3/4 tank of fuel.

That leaves 2180lbs for payload to not be over the GVWR of 9200. I have more capacity on the rear axle, but reach GVWR first.

I have the Roadmaster Active Suspension on the truck. I have higher rated 265 series tires than the stock 245s that come on the truck. (3415lbs per tire vs 3042 per for the 245s.) I was told by a GM mechanic that the 3500 SRW for my year only had 265s and one more leaf in the spring pack. That truck carries a GVWR of 9800lbs.

We mostly camp locally (less than 100 miles away) with maybe one longer trip each year.

I realize that loaded with hitch I will likely be a few 100lbs over GVWR, but under both front and rear axle rating.

New truck will come in a few years to be paid off right at retirement.

Sorry for the long post.
Just trying to do my research as best I can.