Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-21-2017, 11:15 PM   #1

Unhappy New guy

Hey All,

So I am very new to this. I just today purchased a 28BHBE and I am wanting to tow it with a 08 GMC Yukon SLT2. I will be also purchasing the brake booster, weight distribution kit, and sway kit. Do you think that I should be fine pulling this trailer, or will it be a crappy ride?

Thanks in advance,

justin
JLWright325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 11:39 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Justin,

Welcome to JOF

IMO your Yukon most likely won't be an ideal tow vehicle for the 2017 28BHBE. The 28BHBE (9,250b GVWR) is a heavy/long TT and under modest family loading conditions can be in the 7,700lb to 8,200lb range without fluids.

I assume that your Yukon SUV is a 1/2 ton and thus may lack the payload capacity to support the loaded tongue weight of the 28BHBE, especially after you have the Yukon loaded with cargo and/or passengers. Yes, a TT's tongue weight gets subtracted from a TV's (available) payload capacity.

You may want to take your Yukon to a CAT scale loaded with fuel and passengers and weigh it, subtract the CAT scale results from your Yukon's specified GVWR....., the remaining weight is what's available for TT tongue weight and a 50lb WDH (Weight Distribution Hitch). The CAT scale will eliminate the guess work.

For example: The desired loaded tongue weight range for a 28BHBE would be 13% to 15% of it's gross loaded weight...., so loaded at a hypothetical 8,000lbs = 1,040lbs to 1,200lbs desired loaded tongue weight.

Also, the published (web site, brochure, etc.) UVW of a 2017 28BHBE is 6,510lbs, but the actual "shipped" UVW may be closer to 7,000lbs. There will be a yellow sticker on the TT reflecting the actual "shipped" from factory UVW.