Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-03-2014, 10:11 AM   #1

Newbie here...question on towing

Hi all,

We're new to the travel trailer scene and I have some questions about towing. (go figure) I apologize if this has already been answered, but I'm very confused.

I have a 2012 Chevy Silverado, extended cab. (long bed) Currently I have no trailer hitch on the vehicle, it didn't come with one.
It has the 4.8L V8 engine. This is a half ton truck.

I'm looking at buying a 2014 Jayco Jay Flight 22FB.
So, the magic question is...will I be able to tow this trailer?
I'm in North Louisiana and it's pretty flat.
What about towing in Northern Arkansas with hilly terrain?

Any help or suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance!

Mark
mblann1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 10:44 AM   #2

Wink

Yes you can tow that trailer once you get a hitch installed and wiring. Also I learned from experience that when not outfitted with factory tow the circuit in the ecu that controls trailer lights is not turned on requires a dealer flash.i don't know if you can do this with a scan tool, it's my bet that it's a mfr proprietary patch. Was 80$ canadian for my '14 grand Cherokee. You will most likely be told to get a weight distribution hitch (WDH equalizer bars). She will bog down a bit on hills but that happens to the best of us. The 22fb is around 4650 lbs dry so in my opinion you won't have any trouble. Of course have a hitch installed. Duct tape won't work in this instance
2012 Mitsubishi Fuso canter fe160
Me, wife, girl, boy
Fawcett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 10:50 AM   #3

Here is the online Trailer Tow Rating guide:

http://dcd96xmek71bc.cloudfront.net/...ide_lo_res.pdf

it lists your factory tow rating from 4K-7K depending on rear gear ratio among other things. Take a look in your owners manual also.