Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Jayco Tech and Tow > Towing, Hitching and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Old 02-11-2014, 08:00 PM   #1

Prospective buyer of Jayco Jay Flight Swift SLX 154BH or 184BH.

Hi, all. Newbie here that has done extensive research on purchasing a Jayco Jay Flight Swift SLX 154BH or 184BH. I like to travel with my wife, two kids, four bicycles and a 13.5 LB Minature Schaunzer.

I'd like some feedback from anyone that tows these units with a minivan. I have a Honda Odyssey with factory tow package (rated at 3,500) and Air Lift Air bags. Have previsouly pulled a dry weight pop up of 1,800 LBS--actual weight with bikes and luggage; about 2,500 LBS.

I will have the necessary weight distribution hitch, sway bar and brake controller installed if I make the purchase.

I've seen some posts where folks recommend not to pull a travel trailer with the Odyssey. Anybody out there have positive experiences with this tow set up?

Appreciate any and all input.

Thank you...
BrianGVLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:11 PM   #2

Take a look at your towing and cargo limits. You may want to hit the scales with your van fully loaded with fuel, passengers, cargo, etc to see what your weights are, then subtract from the total allowed to see how much you have to work with for the trailer.

2003 Coleman Bayside / 2011 Jayco Jayfeather X20E -- RIP
2012 Tacoma Sport DCSB / 2013 Tundra SR5 - RIP
Heady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:42 PM   #3

Yes. I should get to a scale. On paper I am okay with weights if we choose the 154. The 184 brings me closer to the max, but offers a 3,500lb axle vs. 3,200lb on the 154.

Thanks...
Old 02-12-2014, 09:44 AM   #4