Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-07-2013, 11:55 AM   #1

Total Newbie needs advice

My wife and I are retiring early next year and are considering the travel trailer experience. We have a new Mitsubishi Outlander with 3500 towing capacity and are looking at a Jayco X17Z or A and I'm not sure if the vehicle has what it takes to move this on long trips. The irony is that we hadn't considered RVing until we decided on retirement and way after we bought the Mitzi.

Now we are struggling with upgrading our second car for going on the road with better towing capacity.

Our travel camping experience is over 30 years ago with tents and popups, looking more towards exploring America.

We live in Catskill, NY and would love to see more of America
heyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:59 AM   #2

Mitsubishi Outlander

Not all that comfortable that the Mitzi can tow a X17Z with ease. Has a 3500 tow capacity but we have no experiences with towing anything. Any help out there?
heyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:04 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Personally, I think that TT with a GVWR of 3500lbs is too much for you vehicle.
I tow a 165 sport with the same GVWR of 3500lbs. I loaded out at 3,000lbs at the scales and it was a little dicey at times.
My 4Runner is rated at 5,000 tow weight, I have WDH with anti-sway and upgraded hitch.

My personal approach is to keep my TT loaded weight at 75% of my TV rating.

SUV's are not a very good TV. Mine was originally purchased to tow my pop-up.
I made it safely through a recent 9,000 miles trip, but wouldn't do it again with same TV.

I'll move this thread to Towing and Tow Vehicles so you get better responses.

JMHO,
Doug

Cape Coral, Florida
2021 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2022 Jayco 240RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:15 PM   #4