Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-03-2015, 11:20 AM   #1

Trailer sway

We are towing a jayco 26bhs with a 2013 Expedition.
I am new to towing. On the freeway this thing is scary! I am using a Husky wdh. On Monday I will be putting on Michelin at/2 e rated and have bought a d/s second sway control brake as husky recommends a second sway brake on anything over 24'. I hope this helps as I don't like driving this on the freeway.

Anyone else towing a 26bhs and if so how does it tow?
bret350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:25 PM   #2

We have a 28bhs with a 1999 Expedition Reese dual cam P size tires on tv with no issues.
Will probably updating to Lt tires in spring
2005 F150 Platinum/Roush Package

WHERE EVER YOU GO....THERE YOU ARE
dennis b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:24 PM   #3

I am not sure on the WDH that you have but I can tell you I firmly believe in the Equalizer system. I would talk to your dealer and see what they say but this should take care of the sway that you are experiencing.
slabat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:42 PM   #4

We have a 264BHS towed with a 2500 Sierra Crew Cab diesel and I have not experienced any issues with sway (or any towing issue at that). We have a Blue Ox WDH. I have towed quite a few miles this past season on major roads. I have been passed and have also passed semis and other large trucks with no issue. The 264BHS in my experience tows very well. I don't think the camper is your problem. Maybe loading and/or hitch setup? I'm not an expert. Let us know if the tires and second sway brake help.
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:48 PM   #5