Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-22-2015, 10:25 AM   #1

UnHitched on I-75

Folks. I am new to pulling travel trailers, but not inexperienced in using the ball type hitch with other smaller utility type trailers. Anyway, my wife and I were vacationing with our Swift SLX and travelled down many a bumpy road with never a second thought about the trailers ability to stay connected to our tow-vehicle. Bumps, potholes, whop-de-doos, construction and uneven bridge approaches made for some heart pounding experiences while enroute, as with many times before. I know you all know what I am referring to, we all travel the same Interstates. Well on our return back to Canada, we detoured to be able to visit Gatlinburg TN. The morning we are ready to leave for the final leg of our drive back to Canada we tore down the trailer like we normally do, double checking all site connections are disconnected, propane off, jacks up and secure, antenna down, hitch on ball and locked down with pin, chains, lights. Everything was good to go - at least we thought so. We headed out through the mountains of TN, KY and were nearing Cincinatti on I-75 N. I knew from past trips, Cincinatti was brutal. The ongoing repairs to I-75 have clogged the highway and made the already rough road even more uneven as they continue to effect repairs. In fact, heading N/S on I-75 from Detroit to the KY line is nothing but rough uneven narrow lanes with constantly switching lane positions. This trip through we were about half way through the city when my wife heard a loud clunk and felt the truck shudder. OH NO! she came off the hitch. I instructed her not to panic, the trailer brakes were on but the nose landing gear was grinding away on the highway. My wife makes her way to the shoulder and we come to a stop. Not wanting to get killed on I-75, we need to re-hitch as quickly as possible (