Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-15-2017, 10:53 PM   #1

Wdh vs no wdh

I'm a newbie, buying a 2007 jayfeather 23b and will be pulling with a 2015 suburban. Is a wdh a must?
pwlong19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 11:53 PM   #2

There really is no reason not to have a WDH, it helps to maintain stability in you tow vehicle, improves your steering control, and dampens the bounce from the extra weight on your hitch. The benefits are too many to list, the only con is the cost to invest in the WDH.

2011 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins
2012 Starcraft Autumn Ridge 297 BHS
Flyrotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 03:58 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyrotor View Post
There really is no reason not to have a WDH, it helps to maintain stability in you tow vehicle, improves your steering control, and dampens the bounce from the extra weight on your hitch. The benefits are too many to list, the only con is the cost to invest in the WDH.
X2. I would also add an anti-sway bar as well. It minimizes the sway from passing trucks and cross winds. I would not tow any Travel trailer without WDH and Anti-sway....
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 05:12 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruth View Post
X2. I would also add an anti-sway bar as well. It minimizes the sway from passing trucks and cross winds. I would not tow any Travel trailer without WDH and Anti-sway....
X3. I am towing a 2014 Whitehawk 28DSBH with a Blue Ox WHD and anti-sway bar setup on a 2013 Tahoe and wouldn't consider towing without a WDH/anti-swap bar setup.
cppeekskill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 06:10 AM   #5

X4 on using one.

Even though my F-350 is way more truck than the 19RD needs, the WDH makes the truck's handling closer to normal when towing.

Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!