Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-07-2014, 05:17 PM   #1

Help with purchase

Hi,

Newbie here. The wife and I have been looking at trailers for over a year and it is about time to pull the trigger. We have had our hearts set on the 23B for a while now. Love the openness and storage. However we recently stumbled across a used 26L and absolutely LOVE the floorplan. We have four small kids (ages 2-5) and the 4 bunks are beyond perfect. While we were not only looking at NEW trailers, we did want a NEWER one and since the 26L was discontinued the ones we are looking at are a 2006 and a 2007 (there are 2 for sale in our area).

Question's are: Thoughts on this model? Things to look for during inspection? Any other thoughts?

Thanks

Damon
Damer419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 06:37 PM   #2

Get up on the roof on your hands and knees and inspect every inch of caulk, and around everything that came through the roof( water is the killer of these things. Look at the back side of the water heater where all the water connections are and look for water stains on the wood and drip stains. Look around the water pump. Check the date on the tires and look for cracks and tread ware. Rusty screws both inside and outside. Make sure everything works correctly. Every panel that unscrews just take it off and look inside and all around. Don't be shy,he's taking your money . Make sure both Grey and Black drain valves work properly and don't leak.
Tunce the traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 06:43 PM   #3

Check out the 23J as well. Similar to the 23B but different table set-up.
coondog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:05 PM   #4